The Saudi Apprentice

trump                  Apprentice                             alwaleed

I enjoy some of the American tv shows which air here like “The Greatest Race,” “The Biggest Loser,” “American Idol,” “America’s Greatest Inventor” and one of my all-time favorites is “The Apprentice.”    I feel like outside of the action and dynamics I always feel like I come away with additional knowledge on business solutions and ideas.

 I believe the Kingdom has its own version of a Donald Trump in Prince Alwaleed bin Talal.  I can easily envision him in the role as Trump and I’m sure it would be quite an honor to be chosen as an apprentice to work in one of his many enterprises. Furthermore there are few outlets or incentives for Saudi youth to apply themselves in the Kingdom as well as an overwhelming lack of discipline and dedication.  Initiating such a program could also be viewed not only as entertaining but as a viable public service and outreach for Saudi youth.

  While I am dreaming on here, it would also be great to have both young Saudi men and women as contestants.   It’s not as if the Saudi youth are not smart and intelligent.  They certainly are.  But in many cases they have not been given the incentives or conducive environment to have the opportunity to express themselves and test themselves.

