Saudi Arabia: Jeddah on My Mind

I think I have Jeddah on my mind, especially after reading and learning more about the Young Initiative Group.  For so many reasons, Jeddah is one of the most progressive cities in Saudi Arabia.  I think part of Jeddah’s progression has to do with being a port city and hub of international business and trade.  People of all cultures and backgrounds gravitate to Jeddah for many reasons.  Jeddah is also the first welcome to millions of Muslims each year who arrive in Saudi Arabia to perform umrah or Hajj.

Anyone who is traveling to Jeddah or maybe already in Jeddah but still not as familiar with the city as they’d like to be, must check out Jeddah Online. Jeddah Online has 15 separate categories which provide valuable information to both Saudis and expatriates.  This information includes information and contact data of compounds and hotels; places to shop; restaurant reviews; services; entertainment and much more.

Additionally separate pages provide important data such as emergency numbers, governmental offices and diplomatic missions.

Nb:  I chose to use the image of Jeddah’s popular mosque on the Corniche as that mosque was one of my late husband’s favorite mosques in Jeddah.

6 Responses

  1. My son and I have been to that mosque and I can tell you that I have never felt more alimented than being in that place. Why do you think that is?

  2. I wonder if it has to do with the serenity and ambience of the Red Sea?

  3. My husband and I will definitely spend a week or more in Jeddah next visit. My husband got to spend time this year when he did Umrah with his brothers so of course I did not go with them.

  4. Jeddah is really a great city and offers so many different outlets of activities, eateries, shopping and much more. In some ways Jeddah and Riyadh feel like different countries!

  5. I have this feeling when i visit Riyadh, It’s like visiting a new place, seeing new faces, noticing new customs, and I certainly feel uncomfortable there. Jeddah is the best city along with Dammam, they both have this deep lively spirit… I really can’t tell why, but this is just my experience.

  6. I think it has to do with Jeddah and Damman being port cities whereas Riyadh is in the center of Nej’d…

Leave a Reply

