Saudi Arabia: King for a Day

Saudi Arabia is a monarchy and ruled by the Al-Saud’s.  The present ruler and King is King Abdullah Bin Abdulaziz Bin Abdulrahman Bin Faisal Bin Turki Bin Abdullah Bin Muhammad Bin Saud.

King Abdullah also serves as Prime Minister of Saudi Arabia and Commander of the Saudi National Guard. He is chairman of the Supreme Economic Council, President of the High Council for Petroleum and Minerals, President of the King Abdulaziz Centre for National Dialogue, Chairman of the Council of Civil Service and head of the Military Service Council. Abdullah is the fifth son (out of 37 sons) of King Abdulaziz bin Abdulrahman Al Saud, the founder of modern Saudi Arabia, to ascend to the throne.[8] At age 86, he is currently the world’s current oldest-serving monarch.

It goes without saying that King Abdullah and any ruler of Saudi Arabia has many responsibilities and decisions to make.  However, what I would like to know is what would YOU do if you were King of Saudi Arabia for a day?

38 Responses

  1. Declare the country a constitutional monarchy where all powers emanate from the will of the people, take some of my loot and spend the rest of my life on the warm beaches of Spain; away from the all-year-round glaring Arabian sun and blinding sandstorms.

  2. I would put up a secular constitution endorsing the bill of human rights, also for women, and create a system of law.

  3. A day is not nearly long enough to affect much lasting change without causing chaos throughout the country! >_< I'd have to read up on history and law of KSA quite a bit to use specific, relevant examples.

    From what I know, I can say something like this with changes made according to what I learned before spending a day as King: I would probably see what could be done to reduce the power of the religious leaders without causing chaos throughout the land. I think the sheer fact a woman was in a position of leadership might cause a bit of an uproar. Maybe I'd meet with other women in leadership positions within the country to promote the empowerment of women and possibly highlight those (men and women) throughout the kingdom who are strongly involved in helping out their community. If there was time, I'd meet with children to encourage them to work and study hard, care for their community and country, etc. as they are the future generation. It may also be a good idea to meet with political leaders from other countries (who would be chosen based on the major issues that needed to be addressed during that one day).

    Basically, whatever I could do to raise awareness of the major issues without causing war and other unpleasant things. Honestly, politics is not an easy profession to be in, nor one I'd choose for myself. The main political leader/figurehead of a country also tends to get blamed for everything that occurs within a given country while in the position of leadership, whether good or bad, whether it was caused by the individual or not. It doesn't matter how many other people actually are involved in the decision making process, the main political leader still takes the blame even on things outside his/her control.

  4. @ali alyami,
    That’s good as far as it goes. Make sure there is some provision for basic human rights and minority rights, so the will of the people can’t violate human rights as well- and turn into “mobocracy”. Do that and you can be king- I don’t need to.

  5. King for a day? My first job would be to make sure everything I decreed and changed that day would remain changed the next day. Temporary change is usually worse than no change at all!

    There’s an African proverb that sums up the changes I would make: “Corn can’t expect justice from a court composed of chickens.”

    I would clean house in the law enforcement and legal houses, and institute a transparent, accountable, fully-documented and non-Sharia/PVPV-based law enforcement and legal system which did not recognize tribal affiliation or wasta, did not dabble in “enforced social or cultural preference” issues like what a woman wears or the length of a man’s hair, and adhered to UN and international agreements including those pertaining to human rights.

    Such a law enforcement and legal system would bring across-the-board accountability with consistent consequences to the Kingdom and to the people, and open the door for the demise of the guardianship system, gender apartheid, entitlement and the social control through intimidation mindset.

  6. I remember the television show Queen for a Day. The women were very happy to go home with a new washing machine.

    One day, it’s hard to think what could bring lasting change in one day.

    I would distribute copies of The Revelation of Arès to each person (but first it needs to be translated into Arabic) as I believe reading the Creator’s Word directly is a very powerful tool for inner change which then leads to outer change. The recreation of Eden cannot be done overnight.

  7. sandy,
    Ali Alyami will be the king hehehehehe. LONG LIFE OUR FATHER, ABU MUTA’AB. You will never be a king even for a second till you LOVE every sand seed in the kingdom and hug sandstorms whenever they blow in the arabian desert.

    @strange, well done. They are doing the same thing that you suggested.

    One day king? I will only take one decision. I will appoint myself as a consultuant of the tomorrow king (: .

  8. What’s your full name Medina?

    What do you do that contributes to social justice in Saudi Arabia?

    My full name is above and you can find what I do here:
    www. cdhr.info

  9. Not a bad choice Medina, but I don’t know why you’re laughing at others that want to save Saudi from all the tribal/patriarchal fitna.

  10. The first thing I’d do is abolish the monarchy and all special status and privledges currently held by the members of the royal family and their lackies.

    I’ll set up a “truth and reconciliation commission” to air out all of the dirty laundry and provide for a general amnesty for anyone who comes forward to the commission and gives a honest accounting for their crimes. Anyone found guilty of crimes outside of this setting will be punished ruthlessly.

    I’d set into place a constition and a bill of rights as well as setting up a codified system of laws and rules. I’d completely seperate religion from the government and cut off all state sponsorship of religion. All religion would be allowed to be practiced in the newly minted “Democratic Republic of Arabia”.

    As part of the bill of rights, full gender equality would be given with codified laws set up to enforce it with criminal penalties levied against those who do not grant equality to women.

    Of course all of this would be set up ahead of time and just the order to start the changes would be made on the day that I was king.

    Oh, and all of those high rise condos looking down at the Kabba in Mecca? Leveled, one and all.

  11. I would decree that all men should wear the abaya and hijab/niqab and women shall wear ordinary clothes….and then about 5 minutes later when all the men discover just how hot, confining, and isolating it is…will abolish it all together…except for those that CHOOSE to wear it.

  12. I pretty much agree with Abu Sinan’s/Sand Gets in My Eyes views though I would add that there should be freedom of religion so that what happened to those people (christian) about a month ago praying at home and who got arrested for prostylytizing wouldn’t happen again.

    BTW…I think Coolred’s idea is great too!

  13. @ali,
    Your picture there made me think that you are in my father’s age, dude. I think you were born in Najran, right? So, why are you in America? and Who supports financially this centre?

    If you are interested to know my opinion in Democracy in Saudi, I think that democracy can not work in Arab world especially in Saudi because of religion and tribalism which are the strongest factors that shape people identities. Also, in Saudi, we have different societal structures than American societal structures. Democracy also is not part of Arab/Islamic culture. Throughout history, I think Monarchy regimes are the best models of political systems that can work functionally in Arab world because in every Arab/Saudi family there is a king, father. So, people psychologically and socially are ready to adapt and adopt monarchy regimes. Also, we do not have the culture of diversity. We are collective societies based on parenthood which is different than american society.

    Do you really want to know my full name? why?!

    sandy,
    They wanted to save Iraq too (: . and they went to Iraq under these slogans that they raise here. we know what happened to Iraq. so we say, Thank you, we are happy of what we achieved so far and we continue working for good future of Saudi and Saudi people.

    I laughed on Ali because he said “take some of my loot and spend the rest of my life on the warm beaches of Spain; away from the all-year-round glaring Arabian sun and blinding sandstorms”

    This made me wonder about the real objective of his centre for democracy in Saudi and also it makes him a bad choice.

    @cool, lol, yes it can work for one day lol. I want to see my brother wearing abaya, he will be funny lol

  14. Medina…

    Let me just remind you that NOT every American blindly agrees with what America does or how they handle their foreign affairs!

  15. out of topic but… what do you say about this????

    http://geo.tv/11-4-2010/73825.htm

    this is not yemen or saudi arabia…. mr and mrs phds and brainies who still did not learn NOT to generalize things…

    ps. i wont reply

  16. Medina,

    Yes, I was born in Najran. Have you been to or what do you know about Najran, its people, there history and religious orientation?

    Why am I in America? America is the land of the brave and the free. Where did you go to school?

    Please send a visa to me and promise (guarantee) that I could do this work in Riyadh and keep my head where it is now; and I will pack up and come.

    Yes, I might be your fathers age and I still this work. That’s a compliment, thanks. What does or has your father done for living or for the people whom you say you work to carve a better future for?

    Yes, I would like to know your full name, education and line of work, so I and other can understand your orientation, thinking, agenda and motives. I use my full name, tell the world what I do and why. Why don’t you do the same?

    Who finance CDHR? I wish someone does. It’s a small center in size, but big in action; yet it’s penniless because your beloved absolute monarchs, their purchased apologists and the recipient of their largess consider our work a mortal threat to the despots’ autocratic and theocratic totalitarian system. Why do you think that is the case?

    I grew up in the Southern region. Our sub-tribe did not have a formal structure; all decision were done through consensus a fact that negates your evaluation of the people of Arabia who according to you can live like salves.

    When I was growing up, women and religious minorities have more rights under old systems (by no means perfect or even close ) than under the system (slavery) you are convinced to be the most suitable for the people of the motherland.

    Below is our Center’s mission statement and if you or anyone you know think our work is worthy of your support, please do so and we will be grateful.

    In fact, we solicit and accept financial support from anyone who supports our noble mission, regardless of race, gender, religion, ethnicity, nationality, political or sexual orientation, as long as there are no strings attached.

    Mission

    The Center for Democracy and Human Rights in Saudi Arabia (CDHR) is a (501)(c)3 non-profit organization established in 2004 to promote institutionalized democratic reforms through restructuring of all Saudi state institutions to accommodate growing and insuppressible public awareness of their rights and to meet global demands as necessitated by globalization of goods, languages, values and information. Due to its centrality to Islam and as a major exporter of petroleum, and state religious austere doctrine, Saudi Arabia plays major roles in Muslims and non-Muslims lives worldwide; consequently, its policies and practices are of major concerns to its people and the international community.

    Finally, don’t you think it would have been prudent for you to find more about me before you unleash your premature judgment (or what others may consider childish) of me or anyone for that matter?

    You can contact me directly if you wish at: ali@cdhr.info or via phones which are listed on our website.

    Civil dialogue is healthy even when it feels wrenching at times.

    Best Regards,

    Ali

  17. @Medina,

    In other exchanges we had, you indicated that you do not take any position or opinions on issues. It seems that was a tactic to avoid specific questions from others. I am glad you set the record straight with this:

    “If you are interested to know my opinion in Democracy in Saudi, I think that democracy can not work in Arab world especially in Saudi because of religion and tribalism which are the strongest factors that shape people identities. Also, in Saudi, we have different societal structures than American societal structures.”

    We may disagree on issues, but I do appreciate that you finally were able deliver your stand clearly so everyone knows where you come from on issues.

  18. Ali,
    Well, I can deduce from your response the following points:

    -You are not happy that Najran is a Saudi territory and your main motive to feel so is sectarian and tribal. Here, you actually confirmed my analysis above regarding the factors that shape people identities in the Arab world. I do not know what could happen to you if Najran is a part of Yemen now, where will you be now? At least you had a Saudi scholarship to complete your study, right? but are you grateful to your saudi country now?

    -As you were born in Najran, I think you hold the Saudi citizenship and I think you do not need a visa to enter Saudi. So, you are welcome to come back to your country to be an active citizen working for Saudi as a country.

    -My father is helping his family which is part of Saudi people.

    -I completed my education in Saudi, I am till a student and no work is secured for me yet. I have no agenda, no motives to write here. I have personal interests to correct misleading information about Saudi published here.

    -Your centre welcomes any funds from any country, organization and individual. So I expect that your centre can accept funds from Israel, Iran and Al Qaidah if their support is devoted for your “noble” goals.

    -Sorry, I can not support your centre because we have an experience of people like you in Iraq. They were doing the same job that you are doing now in America and they came to Iraq on the American tanks. So, I think you have to excuse me if I have some concerns about your centre.

    -You are wrong in two things: 1) I am not a purchased apologist but I am a simple Saudi who loves every sand seed in the kingdom. 2) I did not come up with premature conclusion about you but you did.

    For other people who think that my opinion on democracy is set for record and they are happy of because they think it is something against me. My opinion is built on experiences. Democracy model did not work in Lebanon. Democracy model did not work in Iraq. Democracy model did not work in Afghanistan. Democracy did not work in Kuwait and in Bahrain. All these countries tried to adopt democracy but they failed to do so. Why democracy failed in these countries? It is because democracy will bring religious people in the power the thing that will upset the west. People in the Middle East are religiously and tribally oriented in general. And these two factors are strong enough to fail any democracy that could maintain the human rights that western countries are looking for. When democracy worked in Palestine and Hamas came to power, the west refused this kind of democracy and they worked against Hamas and against Palestinian voice, why? So, based on these experiences, I think that the kind of democracy that you are looking for is not going to work in the Middle East. My opinion is descriptive and analytical in nature about the future of democracy in the Middle East in general and Saudi in particular but it should not be understood by any means that I am against democracy.

    Oby,
    I know that not every American agrees with American foreign policy but I know that Americans did not stop America to invade Iraq although they marched against war in NY.So, I should worry about what people say here against Saudi because we used to hear this song before any war.

  19. America’s foreign policy is abysmal in the ME. Democracy really can’t be enforeced. It is the result of a progression, which is why education is the main way out. HOwever, this King For a Day question is really a fantasy question.

    That said- I was talking to one of the elders in the family. She said Saudi was going down the path of modernization just like any other country when in the 1970’s it all started going backwards because the religious people seized more power. So definately religion being removed from government would immediately start helping even if a population is not ready for democracy.

    That societal structure you mention Medina, that allows for Monarchy to rule so well- is also why clerics have managed to rule so well. In the early stages Muslims were taught SO clearly NOT to have clergy- and yet that is what they now have and they are running things. Exactly what they were told not to do- because it doesn’t work.

  20. Sandy, yes, that is one of the things I like about Islam, that it tells you not have scholars, but to read and learn for yourself.

    Of course that is not quite how it panned out….

  21. Good luck with school, Medina. You won the discourse. Ali

  22. I am with the many here that indicated that King of the Day question should be focused on something that offers lasting change:

    – Develop a constitution that cannot be changed
    – Declaration of civil rights and liberties codified in a constitutional article to includes equality of all citizens under the law
    – Develop guidelines for codifying the laws of the country (cannot be done in one day, but should be guided by broad terms of a constitution)
    – Institute a guideline for senior civil servants. This includes terms to insure they cannot participate in managing companies or participate in profit making operations. I will also include a mandatory retirement age of 60 (the country is led by too many older people who cannot relate to the younger generation)
    – Free the press from the control of the government. That means the ministry of information has to go
    – Eliminate the CPVPV with a decree and reduce the role of the ullemah council to only an advisory role for the future ruler. Of course most members have to retire based on age limits and replaced by new younger members representing the different sects in the country
    – Develop plan for transitioning all ministries and governorship leadership positions from the hands of Royals and incompetent ministers to more capable commoners
    – Eliminate the stipend of royals and establish limited constitutional powers of the monarch (this should be similar to the model used by other constitutional Monarchies)
    – Establish a specific time line for a transition period to accomplish the above

  23. ” It is because democracy will bring religious people in the power the thing that will upset the west. People in the Middle East are religiously and tribally oriented in general. And these two factors are strong enough to fail any democracy that could maintain the human rights that western countries are looking for. ”

    Medina…

    I fail to see how that is the case. the clergy are already in charge. One of the aspects of a good working democracy is to separate church from state. In other words do not run the country as a theocracy. that doesn’t mean that the country can’t be a religiously devout country. It simply means that the clerics do not make the rules that govern the country. Laws are codified and enforced by secular courts. If laws are written down and applied equally to all then that goes a long way to ending some of the human rights abuses. When a religious clergy rules a country it is almost always something that prevents modernization. The nature of the clergy is to hold to power and things as they were “in the good old days” when (pick a prophet) lived. Having a secular country goes a long way to helping a country move along. I gave an example on the debate page about Indonesia. It is a secular country that is very devout and almost entirely Muslim. But they have a constitution that recognizes the equality and right of other faiths to practice and exist. It hasn’t made the country any less devout…what it has done however, is allow non muslims to have protections which in turn cuts down on some of the human rights abuses…it allows non muslims to feel at home in the country and it gives them some recourse if things go awry. Becasue they view themselves as secular and have a constitution that makes room for all they can live in peace. Contrast that to Aceh province where they have adopted sharia and are inflicting it with a hard hand…the fabric of the country is shredding in that area. I think that is a pretty good example of how a country can be devout in their faith and yet have a system that provides some measure of freedom.

    Besides as Sandy mentioned Islam is supposed to be free of clergy and a “religious hierarchy”. I have read muslims say that is the reason that they left Christianity for example is because Islam is supposed to be simple and each person is supposed to come to Allah on their own terms. they wanted to be free from the religious establishment dictating how they should practice and believe. It seems to me that anyone converting to Islam is trading one set of religious laws and religious hierarchy for another set of even stricter and tougher laws and multiple clergy in a hierarchy. With Catholicism it is one…the Pope…but Islam has so many clerics issuing fatwas and interpreting it their own way. How in the world is that any different from what the Christians do? At least,thank heaven in Rome the Pope doesn’t run the country. In Saudi and Iran they do…

  24. As Queen of Saudi-Arabia I would abolish the mahrem system, let women drive, ban men from driving for the day Im queen.
    and finally all Haia members would be forced to wear full niqab/abaya (100 % polyester ones) for the whole day. I would establish a female Haia committee in charge of violations of womens rights. All public ill conduct from men towards women would be illegal, violators would be sent to jail by the female muttawas.

  25. oby,
    Yes I agree that clergymen position is not existed in Islam. In the past, it was shwora system, consultative system but not democratic. Democracy is based on the notion that people rule and secured by secular law. shwora is based on the notion that Sharia law rules according to people circumstances. I will give you an example. During the era of the second caliph Omar, the sentence for robbery which is to cut off the hand from the wrest was suspended by the caliph because people suffer from severe poverty. So, there are some basics rules for applying sharia law and it is consultative among people, usually, the prominent people in the society and people who are very educated in Islamic studies, Quran, etc. so, I can say that in Islam, things are mediated between the sharia law and people circumstances but it had never reached to level that they separate religion and the state and set up a secular law. Committee of religious scholars is modern in Islam. It is existed for organising the fatwa recently. So, people in the past were free to express their opinions and discuss anything. I can say that secularism in the sense to separate religion and state is not welcome in Saudi till now. Saudi foreign policy is secular but their internal policy is religious and based on Sharia law to meet people’s will. Please be aware that Saudi foreign policy is not religious at all in the sense that religious people can not influence the Saudi foreign policy which is different from Iran. Iran government is born in the Islamic revolution in 1979. So it is religiously oriented. Saudi foreign policy is one of the taboos that religious people should never ever speak about it.

  26. King for a day? Hmmm.
    (Long live King Abdullah)
    1. Abolish all previous Fatwas.
    2. Give all Western Foreigners married to Saudis a free beach pass (for life) to go to any of the Western beach clubs in Jeddah they’d like.
    3. Allow all women over the age of 25, with a proper license, the right to drive for life.
    4. Change the law to open the malls for single men after 11 p.m. from now on so that they can also shop.
    5. Make a law to send all of the illegals home on the empty planes during Haj every year and give them some money to help them start over in their own countries.
    6. Put money aside for more walking paths to be built around the city for all residents to improve their health.
    7. Put money aside to build a protected swimming area (for women and children only areas) on the Red Sea to use.
    8. Put money aside for outdoor roller skating areas for children of all ages to use along with more parks and places for the public to use for picnic/play areas.
    9. Take the children beggers off the streets and send them home or put them with families/mosques that can take care of them.
    10. Ditto on what Laylah says above about taking men who are abusive to women to jail or given fines.
    11. Have women-only medical facilities for those women whose husbands won’t allow them to go to other hospitals that are mixed.
    12. Fire all of the mutawa. : )

  27. Forgot one thing-change the Haia’s jobs to building shelters for abused women.

  28. Woehahahahaha!!!!

  29. The Haia were created and armed to do one thing and one thing only: Terrorize all citizens and expatriates in the benefits of their masters.

    The only solution is to disband the group and rid the people of their venomous presence.

  30. I agree with Medina that democracy will not work here. I am talking about the democracy that American wants us to have will not work but the type that Islam wants, is what will work.

    “By the people for the people…” policy will not work.

    Before loving every grain of Saudi sand, I love Islamic law and that is what should be implemented.

  31. I happen to disagree, fervently and unequivocally with anyone who insists that the intelligent, patient and unbelievably resilient people of the motherland, especially women, can not accept, embrace, and revere liberation from the denigrating system of political, economic, social, sexual, educational and crippling theocratic and autocratic totalitarianism.

    Assuming there is an Islamic law that fits all Muslims regardless of their locations, gender, cultural and educational upbringing and religious orientations, who would interpret it, apply and enforce it, especially if Muslims are dissimilar as many, especially purchased Western agents of betrayals.

    Is there an Islamic law that fits American, Indonesian, Shiite, Sufis, Adamidis, and Baha’i, liberal, secular and women Muslims?

    How about non-Muslim citizens and non-Muslim expatriates living in Muslim countries? Will they have the same justice, equal rights and opportunities as Muslims do under Shariah system?

    Based on what I have seen and experienced, over the decades, Saudis, men and women, enjoy freedom more than anyone I have seen and met when they visit, study and live in democratic or even semi-democratic and socially relaxed countries. Look how many thousands of Saudis cross Fahd’s Causeway to Bahrain every weekend.

    Liberty, democracy, respect for life sanctity and human dignity are not private property, they are universal values that belong to all human beings. However, they are not delivered on gold platters, they are earned.

    Religions are personal, emotional and individual beliefs, between the creator and the created (evolved.)

    Can one imagine what would and could happen if extremist Christians, Hindus, Jews, Buddhist and others rule their respective countries and communities? The answer would be perpetual warfare, religious slavery, exploitation and degradation as is the case in many Muslim countries as we talk.

    Saudis are not less capable, aspiring and deserving of freedom and liberation from the punishing rules of self-appointed men’s poisonous claws, who claim to act on god’s behalf.

    Finally, I hear and read in Saudi and other Muslim media that Islam is under attack. My question is, can anyone or any nation do more damage to Islam than Muslims, especially Saudi Ulama and their handlers who continue to consider women and non-Muslims as sub-human?

  32. Saudi’s are also just as susceptable to indoctrination as any other people. It is a very polarized society. There are MANY who think the way it is, is just fine because they believe it is Allah’s way. If what you are saying was true accross the board, countries would flock to democracy whenever they have the opportunity. We know that is not the case.

  33. The Saudi’s you are seeing are the elite. Of course they would embrace the kind of change you are advocating. Most Saudi’s do not travel anywhere. Most to not get on blogs and communicate with the outside world. Most speak only their own language. They are not at all like the traveled elite, who speak English or study abroad. And there are far more of them. Any solution has to take that into account.

    And so I am back on my soapbox- EDUCATION needs a major overhall.

  34. You are absolutely right, Sandy.

    Any person or group of people is capable of adapting to or accepting anything under the only conditions available to them.

    Most Saudis have accepted the only fate they are forced into believing the best, most supreme and Allah’s will.

    The core of the problem is the policies and practices of the dynasties that control people’s lives, livelihood, education, flow and filtering of information, interpretation and enforcement of mutilated faith, transportation, communication, education health-care, airlines and everything in between.

    In addition, the system emphasizes the dreadful past as enforced by the royals’ sword dance, weaving, poetry reading and Alganadariyah annual festivals.

    The Saudi people don’t choose to be the way you and other have unfairly (condescendingly) described them.

    If the Saudi visual and print media focus on debating choices, alternatives, options, different ways of solving problems and intense discussions of social, political, economic, religious and educational issues for a year, the Saudi society will never be the same.

    You are blaming the victim like the judges who punish gang rape victims or force happy married people to divorce.

    I agree, education is a major component of mental transformation and physical adaptation. See link below.

  35. I completely fail to see in what way what I said was condescending- or how I am blaming the victim. But you are welcome to your opinion.

  36. King for a day?

    Sorry but the monarchy needs to go; there is too much corruption. I agree with other commenters in that finding the “right” democracy for Saudi will not be easy. I pray it doesn’t take a civil war to help sort things in this country.

    Out of curiosity…what about the queen(s)? I do not know much about them.

    What of their activities?

    What sort of influences (if any) do they have?

    It’s a shame the Saudi women cannot look to them as role models, mentors, activists…something admirable?

  37. http://gulfnews.com/opinions/columnists/eventful-week-in-saudi-arabia-1.707280

    This is a follow up on previous comments I made in response to description of the majority of the Saudi people who are happy with Allah wishes…..

    Half of Saudi society, women, is rendered parasite against their will. They are denied basic human and animal instinct, fetch life sustenance for themselves and their malnourished children, let alone contribute to the survival of the clan (country.)

    How are they going to develop their full mental, physical, intellectual, political, social and reasoning skills and potentials if they are forced into remaining perpetual children?

    Saudi Arabia can become a democracy, reasonable, tolerant, progressive and good model for Muslims to ambulate if its dignified people are treated with dignity.

    Saudi government top Ulama: “It is not permitted for Muslim women to work in a mixed environment with men who are not related to them, and women should look for jobs that do not lead to them interacting with men, which might cause attraction from both sides,” the fatwa stated.

    Citing Quran verses and sayings of the Prophet Mohammad (PBUH), the board urged women to stay away from such jobs for the sake of Allah, who would reward them accordingly.

    The Kingdom’s top government-sanctioned board of senior Islamic scholars endorsed the fatwa, which also calls for a ban on women cashiers elsewhere because it violates the Kingdom’s rules on the segregation of sexes.

    The decision was prompted following demands by a hard-line conservative preacher who had publicly called for a boycott of supermarkets, which had begun employing women cashiers less than two months ago.

  38. […] wrote an earlier article this month about what individuals would do if they were King for a day in Saudi Arabia.  There […]

Leave a Reply

