Saudi Arabia: Wintertime Recipe to Keep Warm

 

This is probably my favorite time of the year in Riyadh after the summer is over and the weather has changed.  During the day it can still get pretty warm but at night once the sun has gone down, it gets cool.  It’s a good time to share a part of American home cooking.  A friend of mine passed along her traditional chili recipe which she prepares regularly during the chill of Riyadh winters.  It’s easy to make, sticks to your ribs and keeps you plenty warm!  Bon Appetite!

 
Skyline Chili

2 lbs fresh ground beef
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon allspice
4 tablespoons chili powder (not the hot red stuff)
1 tablespoon salt (OPTIONAL)
1 1/2 teaspoons vinegar
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon red pepper
2 large dashes worchestershire sauce  (about a tablespoon)
1 large whole onion
1 clove garlic
5 cups tomato juice

Combine all ingredients.  Be sure to separate the ground beef with your hands into the sause.  Cincinnati chili is very smooth, no lumps.  Cook on low heat for about two hours uncovered.  Remove onion and garlic.  Refrigerate overnight, skim fat when chilled.  Reheat and serve over spaghetti or hot dogs.

NOTE:  I do not use red or black pepper prefering instead to use about a tablespoon of hot sauce.
I have also found that the ground beef over here is super lean compared to the States so I do not let it sit as there is simply no fat to skim off.

 

7 Responses

  1. My mom and grandma used to make chili when we were growing up…I haven’t ate it in a long time.

  2. I prepared it regularly every Fall and winter.

  3. Oooooh Skyline Chili! I lived in Cincinnati for several years and this is an iconic restaurant there. You cant have Cincy chili however without finishing it off by a heaping mountain of finely shredded cheddar cheese and accompanied by oyster crackers. They take their chili very seriously there 😉

  4. I believe you left out the 2 TBS of cocoa powder.

  5. Yummy. I’ll be over …. er… someday to eat this! 😛

  6. Great recipe. Super for Superbowl Sunday ( although I am not a sports fan)
    I think I will make some. It is freezing out lately….

  7. Oh my goodness, what a surprise to see this recipe here!! My mom’s entire family came from Cincinatti. Even though I grew up on the west coast, this is the only chili I ever had (my sister and I thought putting beans in chili was so weird). And, my Saudi man loves it too!!

    You can buy/order spice packets for it from Skyline too – then you just add it to ground beef with maybe some tomato paste, let it stew, and you’re good to go. Not as good as making it from scratch of course, but it’s still good in a pinch.

    Glad to know a taste of home is being cooked each year in Riyadh!!

Leave a Reply

