Saudi Arabia: From the Mouth of a Child

Earlier I had asked American Bedu readers a series of questions to help me be a better blogger and provide readers with more of what they wished to know about.  That post in turn led me to the idea of wanting to hear young children’s responses and views on distinctions between Saudi Arabia and their home countries or other countries.  Omar, a nine year old boy, who lives in Riyadh was the first to respond.  If there are other young children whose parents wish to ask them questions so their views can be shared, please email me at admin@americanbedu.com

What is your name?

Omar

Where do you live?

Now my family lives in Saudi Arabia. I was born in California, USA.

What is your nationality?

I am American.

How old are you?

I am 9 years old.

Who is the leader of Saudi Arabia?

His Majesty King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz ibn Saud.

What is the capital of Saudi Arabia?

Ar-Riyadh, the city we live in now.

Who is the leader of the United States of America?

Mr. Barak Hussain Obama.

What is the capital of the United States of America?

Washington, D.C.

How many hours does it take to go from America to Saudi Arabia?

It depends which airline you are taking. With Air France it takes about 10 hours from San Francisco to Paris, then about 6 hours from Paris to Riyadh. With Emirate Airlines it is 16 hours from San Francisco to Dubai and about 2 hours from Dubai to Riyadh, but I do not like that, because you have to wait for 18 hours in Dubai for the next flight.

What is the best thing to do in Saudi Arabia?

Going camping in the desert is fun.

What is the best thing to do in the United States?

Travel to Disney World, walk my dogs, ride my bike. You can do so much in the United States.

Why do women wear black in Saudi Arabia?

They do not want men to see them, because it is not modest for men to see women when they are not married.

What is a muttawa?

Religious people who tell others to go to prayer and close shops. They also tell women to cover their faces with hijab.

What is the adhan?

It is a call for prayer.

Are there muttawa in the United States?

No, and it is great, because my mom does not have to wear abaya.

What is a Muslim?

It is religion. They believe in Allah.

What is a Christian?

I am Christian, I believe in Jesus Christ.

Do Muslims and Christians like each other? Why or why not?

In USA people do not like Muslims because of September 11, 2001. In Saudi Arabia they do not like Christians because of George W. Bush, because of Iraq and because of Saddam Hussain.

What do Saudis like to eat the most?

They like chicken and rice.

What do Americans like to eat the most?

Hamburgers, “In and Out” is the best.

What would you like to say to other children around the world?

I want to tell them to have fun and be happy!

32 Responses

  1. Smart little guy! That “going camping in the desert” was the story of my youth!

  2. Awwww, this interview is so cute! I really loved reading this 🙂 thanks for sharing!!!

  3. This is one smart boy- but I have to suggest that “The Habit” is actually better than “In ‘n Out”. I didn’t think that was possible but there is it. A much smaller chain, however.

  4. I really loved this – There is nothing more truthful then a childs words. I wish him and his family the best.

  5. Cuuuute!
    I love these in-depth interviews!

  6. very cool interview! very nice idea

  7. My boy is becoming popular among this community… Thank you, everyone.

  8. Obviously, this boy is born to a Muslim dad, and lives in Saudi Arabia.

    Why did his mom let him embrace her religion, and identity !

    Is this a child abuse or what?

    His name can not be more Arabic and Islamic.

    Omar = the name of a prominent companion(Omar bin Al Khattab).

    Farooq= the nick name of Omar bin Al Khattab.

    Quarashi = It means: belonging to Quraish (the prophet’s tribe that descended from Ishmael).

  9. Nice topic and so nice and refreshing to to see such a youngster with such a worldly experience. Recently, I was driving on the highway, on the right side mind you in Malaysia and ot lost. I pull off the exit and ask for direction in a very sleepu town and a boy about the same age as this one knew English well and the US. Perhaps our future generation are more tied into the global community-
    BTW Glad to see this website again. I have caught in work in KL and now in boonies in SE Asia on gov project. Look forward

  10. Omar seems to know what’s what. : ) Nice interview.

  11. hello omar

    you say you are christian, is your father saudi and muslim? if yes, this is unusual. peace. gia in jed

  12. Lovely post!!!

  13. My nephew will be nine at the end of February so it was special to read Omar’s interview. I imagine if he and Michael lived near each other, they would be friends. What a sweet interview! He sounds like a fine fellow! 🙂

  14. You should ask Michael the questions and send me his answers to post!

  15. @ Black Eyes
    Are you saying that my child was abused by me? It happened that my husband is a very “progressive”muslim, he and his family has no problem with me beingRussian Orthodox Christian and never had pushed our child to Islam without his own wil. He is saying that he is Christian, because majority of people living in the US are Christians and he considers himself American frist, then anything else…
    @ Gia
    Omar’s father is muslim, but not saudi.
    Just to clarify…

  16. @Black Eyes
    No that is not child abuse. We teach our children and they choose their own beliefs.
    “There is no compulsion in religion”

  17. @Lada,
    does yr kid know russian and/or arabic? he is very cute and smart!

  18. @Irina
    Omar does speak Russian and learning Arabic at school. Unfortunately, he was not able to begin Arabic with all the children in 1st grade, so we have a tuitor, who helps him with the language(he is in 4th grade now). He does surprizingly well in Arabic and Islamic Education,

  19. lada
    you have my curiousity now…what is the nationality of omar’s father?

    just call me a kitty…lol

  20. @ gia
    My husband/Omar’s father is from Kashmir, India.

  21. Carol, I’m sure Michael wouldn’t mind answering, but I doubt he’d know much about Saudi Arabia (what’s fun to do there, why women wear black, the muttawa). But I could ask and see what he replies just for fun. Maybe I should give him a crash course on KSA based on your blog! 😉

  22. lada
    thank you for responding.

  23. “Why did his mom let him embrace her religion, and identity!”

    And what’s wrong with his Mom’s identity and religion?

    Moron.

  24. @Black Eyes,
    how can being a christian and american viewed as a child abuse?

  25. sorry, can be viewed

  26. Wonderful and cute!!!!

  27. Nizar Kabbani
    Syrian Poet, Diplomat, Writer & Publisher
    1923-1998.

    Would You Permit Me

    In a country where thinkers are assassinated,
    and writers are considered infidels and books are burnt,
    in societies that refuse the other, and force silence on mouths,
    and thoughts forbidden, and to question is a sin,
    I must beg your pardon, would you permit me?

    Would you permit me ….
    to bring up my children as I want,
    and not to dictate on me your whims and orders.

    Would you permit me…
    to teach my children that the religion is first for God,
    and not for religious leaders or scholars or people?

    Would you permit me…
    to teach my little one that religion is about good manners, good
    behavior, good conduct, honesty and truthfullness,
    before I teach her with which foot to enter the bathroom or with which
    hand she should eat?

    Would you permit me…
    to teach my daughter that God is about love,
    and she can dialogue with Him and ask Him anything she wants,
    far away from the teachings of anyone?

    Would you permit me….
    not to mention the torture of the grave to my children,
    who do not know about death yet?

    Would you permit me….
    to teach my daughter the tenets of the religion and its culture and manners,
    before I force on her the ‘Hijab’ (the veil)?

    Would you permit me….
    to tell my young son that hurting people
    and degrading them because of their nationality, color or religion,
    is considered a big sin by God?

    Would you permit me…
    to tell my daughter that revising her homework
    and paying attention to her learning
    is considered by God as more useful and important
    than learning by heart Ayats from the Quran without knowing their meaning?

    Would you permit me….
    to teach my son that following the footsteps of the Honorable Prophet
    begins with his honesty, loyalty and truthfulness,
    before his beard or how short his robe (long shirt/dress) is?

    Would you permit me….
    to tell my daughter that her Christian friend is not an infidel,
    and ask her not to cry fearing her friend will go to Hell?

    Would you permit me….
    to argue that God did not authorize anyone on earth after the Prophet
    to speak in his name nor did he vest any powers in anyone
    to issue ‘deeds of forgiveness’ to people?

    Would you permit me….
    to say that God has forbidden killing the human spirit,
    and who kills wrongly a human being is as if he killed all human kind,
    and no Moslem has the right to frighten another Moslem?

    Would you permit me….
    to teach my children that God is greater, more just, and more merciful
    than all the (religious) scholars on earth combined?
    And that his standards are different from the standards of those
    trading the religion,
    and that his accountability is kinder and more merciful?

    Would you permit me?

  28. Good poem!!!!

  29. […] Bedu’s earlier post “From the Mouth of a Child” was well received that it is with pleasure that we get to hear from another youngster!  This […]

  30. poor him,he doesn’t know anything about christians..he was brainwashed to believe muslims pray to the real God while christians pray to a cross….so sad,poor muslims kid,it’s no hope for them.

  31. sorry,my comment was for the other child who lives in saudi arabia

  32. thats cute! he seems to be well informed about world politics too!

Leave a Reply

