Saudi Arabia: Monthly Recipe

The following recipe is not a traditional Saudi recipe.  In fact it is a typical dish served in the Southern United States.  It can be used as a delicious alternative to the traditional rice which is accompanied by the majority of Saudi dishes.  I received this recipe from my son who enjoys cooking.

 

 

Corn Casserole

Bake at 350 – 45 minutes or until center is firm

 

1 can corn – undrained                            2 eggs

1 can creamed corn                                 8 oz lite sour cream

1 box Jiffy corn muffin mix                      ¾ stick margarine or butter

 

Mix all together in mixer until well blended. Pour into a PAM sprayed brownie pan.

Bake until inserted toothpick comes out dry. Let sit 5 minutes before cutting and serving.      YUM!

 

11 Responses

  1. Looks like an easy n simple dish! One question though.. How does it taste?? Like corn bread!?

  2. My sister makes this sometimes. I think it’s not as dry as cornbread and has a really good taste! Maybe I’ll give it a try. 🙂

  3. […] original post here: Saudi Arabia: Monthly Recipe « American Bedu Related Posts:Saudi Shares Fluctuate as Food Producers Decline, Banks Climb on Ea… By Mourad […]

  4. It is more moist than corn bread!

  5. I make this all the time for my kids! They love it. However, we don’t use jiffy mix because it has lard in it,
    which isn’t halal

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by toot, FoodNW. FoodNW said: Saudi Arabia: Monthly Recipe « American Bedu – The following recipe is not a traditional Saudi recipe. In fact it is… http://ow.ly/1aZVlB […]

  7. that is sooo southern…lol.

  8. Be careful with Jiffy products around muslims or vegetarians as most contain lard and the cornbread is one of them!

  9. oops! I just saw UmmZacharia’s post! Can’t see straight! My mom loves jiffy and she makes things all the time that my husband and I can’t eat!

  10. What size can?

  11. oops…I think as long as both are the same size that will work! I would suggest a regular size cans not necessarily a jumbo size.

Leave a Reply

