Deep-fried Cauliflower Florets

Yasmin Keaton is an excellent cook.  She resides in Jeddah with her Saudi husband and family.  She has contributed recipes to American Bedu before.  With this recipe she has taken Cauliflower and produced a recipe which delights the palette with its appetizing combo of East meets West.

Half a cauliflower cut into florets (about an inch across)
cumin
salt
egg
plain French bread crumbs (I use left-over baguette dried and processed in the blender until fine grain)
oil for frying

After washing the cauliflower (soak in water with two tablespoons white vinegar if organic and not pest-free), parboil it in water flavored with  a half-teaspoon ground cumin and salt.
Take the florets out and let them cool until breading. Immerse the cauliflower in the salted beaten egg, drain off the excess egg and toss in the bread crumbs. Allow the breaded florets to rest and dry a little before frying. Don’t let them touch or stack them.

Fry the florets until golden brown and drain them on kitchen paper. You can sprinkle them with a little extra cumin for flavor or serve as is.

The cumin in the parboiling water helps to reduce the gassy consequences of eating cruciferous veggies and it enhances the flavor of the cauliflower too.

Festive Corn Salad

Two cups frozen niblet corn, scalded with boiling water and drained
cherry tomatos
diced cucumber
diced red bell pepper
green onions diced
1 fresh green chilli pepper diced (optional)

Fresh coriander leaves

Dressing

Corn oil (or very light olive)
red vinegar
fresh lemon juice
chilli powder (the kind for Mexican food)
salt to taste
sugar
cold water

You can use fresh corn cut off the cob and parboil it. You can use roasted corn on the cob that is left over from a barbecue. You can use canned corn, drained and the frozen corn as prepared above. You can dry-roast the frozen corn or the fresh corn in a heavy skillet and sprinkle on the chilli powder last but canned corn is too wet and mushy to add this step.

I like to chop the vegetables the same size with the exception of the cherry tomatos which are halved. Whole tomatos are a challenge to diners. The salad dressing should be adjusted to taste. I mix the oil and vinegar and lemon juice together along with the chilli powder, salt and sugar and then whisk in the water to make it more emulsified. The finished dressing should be spicy, slightly sweet, slightly tart and not too salty. I think it would be nice to serve the salad in hollowed out tomatos as a starter but it also goes well as a relish.

Toss the salad with the dressing and let sit. Just before serving you can add fresh coriander leaves over the top as a garnish. Not everyone likes their pungent flavor but those who do will love the litte extra kick.

11 Responses

  1. This looks great! I wonder how this would taste deep frying broccoli?? Thanks for the recipe!

  2. What can I say, in a previous post I say that I miss the postings about food and flowers – and pronto, here is one on cauliflower. I am really awesome. By sheer mental power I bend wills to do my bidding!.

    Anyway, that dish really looks delicious. I like cauliflower and broccoli.

  3. The cumin in the parboiling water helps to reduce the gassy consequences of eating cruciferous veggies and it enhances the flavor of the cauliflower too.

    nice tip to know.

  4. Try these two:
    Goat w/ cauliflower
    cauliflower w/ tarrigon

  5. I have tried both of the mentioned:
    Goat w/ cauliflower (cook until tender)
    cauliflower w/ tarrigon, cook until very tender.

  6. International Women’s Group and American Women of Saudi Arabia.
    I met many great friends through both groups and had great cooking experiences.

  7. We make something similar to this in our house. But instead we mix the egg with some flour, add some chopped dill, salt & pepper and a little garlic powder and dip the cauliflower florets into it before frying. It tastes so good. I will try this variation…mmm now I’m hungry 🙂

  8. A challenge to diners… :-))
    It ‘s partly a skill and partly a gamble to try spearing a cherry tomato with your fork.

  9. all I can say in reading all these comments is I’m glad I’m eating an orange at the same time as these additional culinary tips and treats are making me hungry.

  10. Interesting recipes! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    One of my Bangladeshi friends has a great recipe for curry cauliflower. I asked him to email it to me once, but he said it’s easy to remember and all I needed to do was…and six steps later, I was lost. LOL. >_<

  11. I know…some folks make cooking look seamlessly and everything is delicious!

Leave a Reply

