Saudi Arabia/Lebanon: Spontaneous Entertainment or The Lighter Side of Travel

 

Although not specific to Saudi Arabia, I enjoyed the following video.  Can you imagine such spontaneous entertainment taking place at King Khalid International Airport in Riyadh?  No…probably not.  Yet imagine if travelers were minding their own business and some Saudi men (in accordance to custom) started to perform some of the traditional Saudi dances in the same manner as the video?  Hmmm….somebody should suggest this to the Ministry of Culture…

 


26 Responses

  1. what fun! why aren’t I ever in the place where these mob flashes happen?

  2. flash mobs

  3. so cute… why does such things never happen when we travel? maybe next time i should instigate my kids to start dancing 🙂

  4. Did someone say “dancing”?! I would love to be there. It looks like the people in the video had a lot of fun!!!

    It would be cool to learn all of the traditional dances of Saudi Arabia, or of any other country for that matter. I find that dancing can tell you something about the culture of a given place.

    @Oby,
    I sometimes wonder the same thing!

    @Radha,
    Why not dance yourself? 😉

  5. I created a flash mob last week…err….kind of….

    I was doing some volunteer work at the local hospital. I was speaking with a few patients and we got to chatting about songs which were about North Carolina. I started singing (spontaneously) (Nothing Could be Finer than) “Carolina in the Morning.” The other patients started chiming in too and then others were peeking in the room we were in to see what was going on and started singing!

    So, just do it! Start your own flash mob. (smile)

  6. Nice video!

    Carol, we wanna see/hear your singing flash mop 🙂

    Radha, I second Srangeone’s suggestion!!

  7. Way COOL!!! Very enjoyable post!!!

  8. Looks like a lot of fun. Smiling 🙂

  9. Oby….a mob flash???!!! Definitely would NOT go down well in Saudi…or anywhere else Im thinking. 🙂

  10. I really enjoyed this video and the thought of it occurring spontaneously brought a smile to my face but I suspect it was planned.

  11. It was created by M&C Saatchi advertising agency for the Beirut Take Back More campaign.

    And how can you call flash mobs spontaneous when they are usually planned in some way?

    Still, nice video all the same.

  12. …and might I say Astagfirullah! Momentary lapse of judgement on my part.

  13. wow it’s amazing, I enjoy it!

    I can’t imagine this happen here in saudi arabia. the muttawa don’t bear it.

  14. @strangeone/moq — ok i know we don’t meet in person, i have kids in college which should give you an approx idea of my age 🙂 so i shall leave the dancing spontaneously to you young ones….

  15. Loved this! how great that you had your own flash mob (of sorts), Carol! 😀

  16. Great, I love these things. If you can’t dance, you can’t really live. It had to be Lebanon!

    I am sure that if these could happen in Saudi Arabia (with women dancing) we would have far less problems.

  17. Radha,
    I am all for encouraging people of all ages to dance! Age is nothing but a number. 😉 I know of at least one belly dance teacher who is of retirement age, and she still dances. 🙂 I think this is awesome! I also know of quite a few couples of similar age that teach ballroom dancing, too. But if you aren’t one for dancing that’s cool too. If I were to ever meet you, be warned that I WILL most likely try to convince you to dance (that goes for just about anyone…hehehe)! Sorry, that’s just me. ^_^

  18. @strangeone – if u are ever in the NE then i will come for lessons :_)

  19. I can vouch for StrangeOne’s ability and talent in dance. She demonstrated some of her belly dancing skills when visiting me!

  20. I love the flashdancing anywhere it’s done. Actually, if you search youtube, you’ll find it there as well catching on all over the world.
    Here’s where OSU Meets GLEE

  21. That’s pretty cool. All except for the part where it’s OHIO STATE!! Go BLUE!! ;-p

  22. Lynn…

    you could get killed for saying that in the Columbus area!
    LOL They are the most die hard and rabid fans my husband and I ever saw. It is a bit of a mystery to us…we don’t even tell people we couldn’t care less! It is blasphemy!

  23. LOL oby ’cause here, in the Ann Arbor area, I could get killed for admitting I watched that video and liked it! Michigan’s a tougher crowd. hahaha

  24. Lynn…

    LOL! 🙂

  25. I shared this video with a Saudi friend of mine, and he said that this has happened a few times at King Saud University in Riyadh. There’s a bit of a language barrier, but this is still really cool 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

  26. @AzurEyes,
    That’s awesome! 🙂

    @Radha,
    If I am ever in the area, I would love to teach you!!! It’s not really all that difficult (to master the basics, at least). I’ve actually decided to take lessons so I can learn more about the various traditional Egyptian styles of dancing, so hopefully I’ll be even better and more knowledgeable (to better teach others) soon! I’d also love to learn other traditional Arabic dances if anyone knows of a good teacher for them!

    IMO to learn the basics of most dances isn’t that hard for most people; it’s more a matter of gaining confidence and feeling comfortable dancing. If you’ve got that, then you’ll do just fine!

    @AB,
    I’m glad you enjoyed my dancing! Next time I’m able to visit, it would be great to see you dance, too!

Leave a Reply

