Saudi Arabia: Preparing for the Next Big Battle

 

 

The subject of this post may seem to infer that with all the unrest continuing in the Arab world that something may be brewing in Saudi Arabia.  No; that is not the topic at all.  This post is an update about me and my ongoing battle with cancer.

I recently had some updated tests performed to obtain an update on the status of my Stage IV metastatic breast cancer.  This past week I received the results from my doctor.  The news was not altogether surprising; the cancer has continued to slowly spread though the bones.  I have additional cancer tumors in my back and a tumor has now grown within the bone of my hip.  As a result my treatment regimes will be changed or to be more precise I should say increased.

As long as the FDA’s vote to remove Avastin for use with metastatic breast cancer patients gets overturned, I will continue to receive bi-weekly infusions of avastin along with the other medications I am receiving. However the increase growth of the cancer will have me returning to some more aggressive treatments too.

In regards to the new changes, first of all I will undergo a brain scan (more for neurological function than tumors) and also a core biopsy of the bone.  The biopsy will likely be in the hip.  This biopsy will enable my doctor(s) to better fine-tune the changes in upcoming treatment.

Once test results are in I’ll be back in radiation treatments which will be daily treatments.  Although I do not know for sure yet it is estimated radiation would be for a minimum of two weeks.  After radiation I will have additional chemo added into the mix.  It is likely I will receive two different kinds of chemo which will be administered weekly and for an estimated period of 4-5 months.

TIn spite of this news I have to say that I am feeling very well.  Spring is here and I’ve been keeping active with my grandsons, volunteering at the local hospital and just enjoying time in my “mom-cave.”

If you wish to help support me in my continuing battle with cancer, I urge you to make a donation in my behalf to the American Cancer Society Relay for Life.  I still plan to participate in the Relay for Life in my local area although I’ll likely be bald again at that time!  However, Bedu’s are known for their fighting spirit and I plan to be the biggest pink bedu warrior fighting for myself and for a cure.

23 Responses

  1. May Allah support you with state-of-art-medicine and plenty of TLC from those little grandkids! Please send me your address by email; I have a book I’d like to send you.

  2. You’re a very strong and courageous lady.I admire you for what you’re doing with your blog, life, and life’s challenges.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you have to start all that over again. I’m glad you are feeling well and enjoying a full life. I’ll be hoping for all the best for you. I have no doubt you will stay strong but still we’re all here rooting for you!

  4. Carol, I’m so sorry to hear this! I am keeping you in my thoughts, and I hope things go better for you this time. I’m glad you’re feeling well in spite of it, and hoping that that will somehow help to bring you through.

    Good luck!

  5. Carol, may the angels of healing light surround you. My prayers are with you. I already donate to the Susan G. Komen fund in honor of my mom, who is a breast cancer survivor and my mother-in-law, who fought but could not win, her battle with ovarian cancer.

  6. Oh Carol, another test! I am so admired with your strength, you are amazing. I just got out of the hospital, a month long stay (my kidney ruptured) and I am such a wimp, I keep asking Allah s.w.t. for strength and endurance and it was just so hard. I cried from pain, weakness and irritiability all the time.
    I had 3 surgeries and a blood transfusion in 2 days and have another 2 to go. Any tips oh how to stay strong? I am praying for you.

    Jessica

  7. I think Abdullah made a very good choice in his nickname for you. You are very much a Bedu – strong and tough, willing and able to fight, yet gentle and kind to those who need a helping hand. You’re a woman of courage and an inspiration to all of us who read your blog. Thank you.

  8. I can’t imagine your suffering. I pray for your continued willpower and positive attitude. You are an example for us all.

  9. Your courage and determination are a real inspiration. May Allah the Compassionate, The Merciful , The Healer keep your spirit strong and certain of His love and ours. I can only imagine what this battle takes to fight daily. May you take comfort in knowing that the cancer has not eaten at your mind or your soul. You are a light to other warriors on this path.

  10. We all join you in praying for a cure and a miracle for you. Keep positive and happy, you remain in our thoughts and prayers.

  11. I truly admire your strength. May Allah cure you from cancer and give you the strength to overcome this.

  12. God Bless. Courage, peace and joy to you.

  13. I am very sad to hear this. I truly admire you for keeping up so well.

  14. Sending the healing energy of love your way.

  15. Thank you all for the supporting and healing words. I had the brain scan today and it went smoothly. Thursday is the bone biopsy. That may take a little longer to recuperate from. However as I have been saying, I am feeling good and life has been great.

  16. […] He’s been with me every step of the way as I have rebuilt a life without Abdullah and while continuing my own battle against […]

  17. […] Carol has shared her story of the battle against cancer – stage IV metastatic breast cancer – in her AmericanBedu.com blog. Last week she posted an update [Link] and mentioned that she plans to participate in an American […]

  18. […] Carol has shared her story of the battle against cancer – stage IV metastatic breast cancer – in her AmericanBedu.com blog. Last week she posted an update [Link] and mentioned that she plans to participate in an American […]

  19. […] Carol has shared her story of the battle against cancer – stage IV metastatic breast cancer – in her AmericanBedu.com blog. Last week she posted an update [Link] and mentioned that she plans to participate in an American […]

  20. […] Carol has shared her story of the battle against cancer – stage IV metastatic breast cancer – in her AmericanBedu.com blog. Last week she posted an update [Link] and mentioned that she plans to participate in an American […]

  21. […] and associated treatments from when he was diagnosed in October 2008.  I continue to battle my own war with cancer […]

  22. […] extraordinaire Hala Al-Dosari.  Hala and I had made plans for the past year to get together but my cancer relapse and chemotherapy treatments intervened with our well laid plans.  In fact, Hala returned to Saudi […]

  23. […] Alison continues to treat and take care of me to this day as I battle Stage IV breast cancer.  Her compassion and zest for serving her patients […]

Leave a Reply

