Saudi Arabia/USA: The Simple Things Matter the Most


It is very easy for anyone to get caught up in the day-to-day activities of life and/or politics.  Sometimes we need a “reality check” on what is truly important and matters the most.  How do YOU respond if asked “What are the most important things in life?”  Answer spontaneously.  I realize as I have grown older my Dad was always right… Family and Health are the most important aspects in life.  Without either, one has nothing.  It’s not about riches.  It’s not about gold.  It’s not even about OIL!

As I write this post I am at my sister’s home in Florida.  I am watching my 5 year old great niece enjoy swimming in the pool.  She is the only one in the pool.  The outside temperature is about 90 degrees (F) and the pool temperature is only about 70.  Thankfully my niece and her son (my great nephew) and I are sitting comfortably in the shade watching her play.  Somehow she has managed to overcome the chill of the water and swimming and having fun splashing around.  She wants us to come and see how her belly button can make bubbles in the water but I’ve chosen to share this post instead.

This is likely my “last hoorah” for a little bit.  I received my updates from my doctor with the results of the tests that I had administered recently. Good news is that my cancer has NOT spread to the brain but it has spread to other areas and inside of the bones.  When I return back to North Carolina I’ll be going back into a more active form of treatment which will begin with daily radiation treatment.  After radiation it is back to more aggressive chemotherapy in addition to the existing treatments I receive.  That means it will be a Springtime and Summer of treatment.  However I am prepared for this next phase of the battle, especially after having the wonderful visit with family.

My family gives me fabulous support and blankets me in love.  We may be separated by distance which makes these visits all the more special.  While I would not want others to experience by my own example, but my fight against cancer has truly reinforced to me the importance of my Dad’s words that the most important things in life are family and health.  What do you think?

22 Responses

  1. I think your father is wise. I’m glad you are enjoying your family. Lots of love and best wishes. I admire your upbeat attitude in spite of everything.

  2. Ditto what Susanne said. I’m glad you are enjoying your visit with your family I hope you made it over to check out the belly button bubbles. 🙂

  3. We actually talked about what is most important as far as what value do we put on things in an infant care class. I can’t remember what the rest were, but we all decided that health was the most important (outside of religion). I would agree that loved ones/family (whether or not they are blood related) are the next most important.

    Sounds like you had a great time! I’m glad to hear that you have been enjoying yourself! 🙂 Love the t-shirt pic! ❤ Sorry your test results aren't as good as you'd hoped, but I am glad you are still doing your best to stay positive and enjoying every minute as much as you can!

  4. Your father is absolutely right, Carol. You will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. As for my father who is also a stage 4 cancer patient (and who continues remaining positive) always reminds me to “never give up!”

  5. Family and Health… Absolutely.

    Consider all of us — we who have been reading American Bedu over the years– your extended family. We love you, even at a distance.

  6. Totally agree. Family, friends, good health and peace of mind.
    I hope your treatment goes well.

  7. Carol best of luck with this new phase of treatment- and I am so glad you are having this chance to refresh and recharge before heading back to the war. Take care of yourself- and your Dad was absolutely right!

  8. Faith, family, friends and health.

  9. Wise words from your father. You are inspiring in your strength.

  10. With good health and a supportive family – we can achieve almost anything. I agree good health is a gift.
    Consider us all your extended family and hopefully we can all support you thru this ordeal.
    maybe a few of us can showcase out cooking skills once in a while if we are around your place and tempt your taste buds ?

  11. I am glad you could make the trip after all.

  12. Carol, my thoughts and prayers are with you on this next battle and I’m sorry there has to be another battle.

  13. Be strong Carol and no one has more love in their heart then you do ❤ Your father is right.

  14. We absolutely LOVED seeing you – you are THE most positive person I know ( and a fabulous example to my children – your great nephew and niece) – we are blessed to not only be related to you but to be showered with your love – you will continue to be in our prayers and our thoughts everyday. We love you!

  15. Yes, the simple things to matter and the simple things are fun like swimming and being with family. 🙂

  16. I will pray for your good health. Thank you for your terrific contribution to cultural understanding, and for your moving testimony to the power of love.

  17. Carol,

    So glad you got to visit Florida. It’s so beautiful isn’t it. A Kodac moment anywhere you turn. Many of my best memories with my husband and the kids were from being there years ago.

  18. I’m baaaaaaack!

    Thank you, each and every one, for the encouraging words of support and love! I have returned refreshed, recharged and ready for the next battle.

    I spent a week in Florida where I had the opportunity to visit with my two (grown) nieces and their families, my sister and brother-in-law and my stepmother. It was a lot of coverage in too quick of a time but many wonderful experiences and memories were made.

    I begin the new regime of treatment on Monday starting with 2.5 weeks of radiation and after that back to aggressive chemo. I’m ready!

  19. Awesome!

  20. Thank you, Lark!

  21. Welcome back!

  22. Thank YOU!, Aafke.

Leave a Reply

