Saudi Arabia: Some Favorite Sweets during Ramadan

 

During Ramadan some of the finest and most delicious sweets are made.  I’ve chosen to put together a selection of some of the popular dishes so readers can learn (and enjoy) the sweets of Arabia too!

 

The first recipe is for Basboosa which you can make your own as shown in the video or purchase from any bakery or grocery store in the Kingdom.  Chef Amjad shares his recipe.  I remember enjoying Chef Amjad’s pastries when I was in Riyadh.

 

 

Kunafa and Ataif (Ramadan pancakes) are big favorites.  Although this video is not from Saudi it still depicts two of the favorite Ramadan sweets and how they are made in the traditional way.

 

12 Responses

  1. I am morrocan, I live in saudi arabia since 1999 with my morrocan husband and my two children.
    I would like to share this recipe with you

    http://www.cookingwithalia.com/index.php?option=com_zoo&
    task=item&item_id=50&category_id=12&Itemid=110

    bon appetit
    ramadan karim to all of you.

  2. I am morrocan, I live in saudi arabia since 1999 with my morrocan husband and my two children.
    I would like to share this recipe with you :

    http://www.cookingwithalia.com/index.php?option=com_zoo&task=item&item_id=50&category_id=12&Itemid=110

    bon appetit
    ramadan karim to all of you

  3. In a family of East meets West- I think we’ve decided to make Funnel Cake a Ramadan sweet in our household. It’s certainly not something that should be made year round- not if we want to stay even reasonably healthy.

  4. Nassima, thanks for the link! I have a couple of cookbooks purchased in Morocco and now I can add to my collection!!!

  5. you are welcome wendy!

  6. Oh Nassima! Thank you for that site. Thanks to you I am enjoying a delicious bowl of Moroccan Lentils right now.

  7. @lynn,
    Happy if I was able to help!

    With alia the Moroccan cooking becomes easy to make. and she is so charming!

  8. I loved Lynn’s photo of the Moroccan lentiles on FB

  9. Well, that wasn’t MY photo, it was from that website that Nassima posted. They were quite a hit! My husband, who had kinda turned up his nose at them actually really, really enjoyed them. I sent some down to my neighbor and she loved them too. I had them again today paired with a salad and some hummus and bread from the local Arab restaurant! YUM!! Can you OD on lentils? LOL

  10. I don’t know if you can OD on lentils- but I’m seriously thinking of conducting some “scientific” research in that field of study!

  11. I’ve been craving ful so much but can’t have it until I’m allowed to have tomatoes again. I saute onions and tomatoes to a carameled mix before I add the ful.

  12. Sandy, I think you should do that! Lentils are very good for you.

    Carol, I’ve got to try your recipe next. yum!

Leave a Reply

