Saudi Arabia: Female Bloggers on the Saudi Experience

 

I’m pleased to share this Arab News article which focuses on four female bloggers who blog about Saudi Arabia.  In addition to myself, the female bloggers are Susie Khalil; Laylah; and “American Girl.”  Each blogger explains why she blogs and her reasoning on whether she blogs anonymously or in her own name.

 

I would be very interested in feedback from American Bedu readers who have read the article in its entirety.  Is it better for a blogger to be known by their true name or should a female blogger hide behind an alias?  What power, if any, does a female blogger have in writing about Saudi Arabai? What needs do the blogs written by female bloggers meet?  How reliable are there blogs?  On a scale of 1 – 5, what service is each of the blogs providing with five being the highest?

7 Responses

  1. Congrats on being in arab news carol, the only issue i had with the article was the writer calling someone’s blog gloomy etc., if it’s depressing don’tread it. i personally went nad read that blog and i don’t find it depressing at all. noone going thru a divorce especially in a strange land is going to be doing the happy dance and a blog is the writers feelings, cathartic for her maybe. anyway i enjoy your blog, great work, i hope you can write more and keep writing. take care of your health

  2. Hello Bedu
    Along with reading the article in the Arab news I read all the blogs he wrote about. Ilove all them the same but look for different things in them. I myself am in love with a Saudi and one day hope to be married and with that comes along the possibility of living in the kingdom. When I read your blog or Suzies I find information specifically on the Kingdom, I find your blogs revolve around the Kingdom first and your lives second. Laylah and American Girls blog are more of and insight into their lives which happen to be taking place in the Kingdom. They help me to see what I may have in store as far as marriage permission goes and if a seperation may happen. All of these blogs along with many more have allowed me an insight into what may or may not be in store for myself. That’s good insight and bad, for as we know who knows what will happen. It doesn’t matter to me if a person uses and alias or not, as we know most Saudis are very private and it may cause some upset if identities were to be found out. Sometimes the blogger themselves may not be ready to revele themselves and that’s ok with me, I wouldn’t be at first, that’s a lot of personal information to disclose to the world. Some may say then keep a private journal but getting comments from people may help them through their situation. I think blogs are somewhat reliable, I mean you never really know if the information is real or not but when reading them all and comparing they all seem to have similarities so I would say so. I give all the blogs a 5 for helping me see into a world were hopefully one day will be a big part of my life! Keep blogging everyone, you help people like me everyday. We know every non Saudi woman who is getting involved with a Saudi needs some information on the additional challenges that may arise.

  3. Hello Bedu
    Along with reading the article in the Arab news I read all the blogs he wrote about. Ilove all them the same but look for different things in them. I myself am in love with a Saudi and one day hope to be married and with that comes along the possibility of living in the kingdom. When I read your blog or Suzies I find information specifically on the Kingdom, I find your blogs revolve around the Kingdom first and your lives second. Laylah and American Girls blog are more of and insight into their lives which happen to be taking place in the Kingdom. They help me to see what I may have in store as far as marriage permission goes and if a seperation may happen. All of these blogs along with many more have allowed me an insight into what may or may not be in store for myself. That’s good insight and bad, for as we know who knows what will happen. It doesn’t matter to me if a person uses and alias or not, as we know most Saudis are very private and it may cause some upset if identities were to be found out. Sometimes the blogger themselves may not be ready to revele themselves and that’s ok with me, I wouldn’t be at first, that’s a lot of personal information to disclose to the world. Some may say then keep a private journal but getting comments from people may help them through their situation. I think blogs are somewhat reliable, I mean you never really know if the information is real or not but when reading them all and comparing they all seem to have similarities so I would say so. I give all the blogs a 5 for helping me see into a world were hopefully one day will be a big part of my life! Keep blogging everyone, you help people like me everyday. We know every non Saudi woman who is getting involved with a Saudi needs some information on the additional challenges that may arise.

  4. I have no problems with an anonymous blogger as long as the reasons behind the anonymity are good ones. The blogs are different and provide different things to different readers. I started reading Susie’s blog prior to visiting Saudi and then branched out to Carol’s and then others. I would not rate the blogs as they each have their own style and purpose.

  5. I don’t mind using my real name. The thing is I come from a bedouin atmosphere that considers revealing your real identity as a shameless act. I know it sounds backward, but oh well, sometimes you find yourself bowing to meaningless traditions for the sake of the people you love. For my fellow Saudi bloggers, it’s a bit of a challenge to start your own ‘world’ without expecting some harrassment from male readers who keep reminding you of your ‘main’ roles (which they get to define) in the society. Once you show resentment, you’re gonna be classified as a ‘loose woman’, sad but true. 🙂

  6. Good article. I only read yours and Susie’s of the four featured, but the other two sound interesting!

  7. @A Saudi Woman – I think you gave the best explanation for others to understand some of the many challenges of not only being a (Saudi) woman in the Kingdom but also of the distinctive culture.

Leave a Reply

