Saudi Arabia/USA/World – There’s No Place Like Home

 

I have been very emotional lately, almost like a roller coaster.  One minute I’ll be laughing and the next I’m crying and I don’t know why!  It could be because of where I am at in life or it could be that in too short of weeks, Abdullah will have been gone for two years yet it still feels like yesterday.  Only God knows how much I miss him.

 

This song by Carrie Underwood makes me cry like a baby who can not be appeased yet it resonates with me at the same time.  I hope you enjoy it too.

11 Responses

  1. I am so sorry for all the loss that you have experienced. I will not dare to say I know how you feel. I just want God to comfort you and to put people in your life who can hold you and to comfort you. I wish that I could take some of your suffering, but I can not. I will pray for your comfort.

    My family have been gone for 7 years last December 23. This was the first year that I could talk of them and not weep. They are not dead but they do not speak to me at all. Not the same.

  2. Carol, Remember that you are important to so many of us. I doubt that there are many cities in the US and around the world in which you don’t have friends and people that care about you. jay

  3. What a touching song and, yes, I see why it resonates with you. Songs make me cry like nothing else will. I’m sorry you miss your sweetie so bad still! He was a very special man!

    Gwendolyn, I’m sorry for your losses as well.

  4. Subhanallah…i cannot imagine the pain of loosing a best friend/husband and be left to pick up the pieces. You are helping others more then you think with your experiences that you care to share with us as well as your battle against cancer that inshallah you will win soon.
    Allah make this time in your life easy ameen.
    Inshallah in Jannah you will be with your husband for eternity.

  5. I am sorry for your loss. I wish there were words to really help or a way to take the pain away. I know however that there is not; there is only the comfort of knowing someone cares. Just remember, people do care for you Carol. I hope you take some comfort from this.

  6. Hi Carol, So sorry for your loss. On January 15, 1998 my mother passed away, I was 24…although it has been a long time, it still feels like yesterday, and I wish everyday that I could pick up the phone and talk to her. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  7. Dear Carol, May god bless your husband’s soul. I am sorry for your loss I lost my sister in 2004 and I still miss her dearly. I get comfort when I help others in her name; sometimes when I am in so much difficulty I feel her presense helping me I believe that people who pass away return to this world as angels to help us and do god’s will, and what connects us to them is love. This we never loose. Passing away is like being born in another world and the virtues that we obtained in this world are what help us in the next and I am sure you remember so many beautiful memories of the virtues of your dear husband. Praying for the departed surely helps them He is God, exalted is He, the Lord of loving-kindness and bounty!
    Glory be unto Thee, Thou, O my God, the Lord Omnipotent. I testify to Thine omnipotence and Thy might, Thy sovereignty and Thy loving-kindness, Thy grace and Thy power, the oneness of Thy Being and the unity of Thine Essence, Thy sanctity and exaltation above the world of being and all that is therein.
    O my God! Thou seest me detached from all save Thee, holding fast unto Thee and turning unto the ocean of Thy bounty, to the heaven of Thy favor, to the Daystar of Thy grace.
    Lord! I bear witness that in Thy servant Thou hast reposed Thy Trust, and that is the Spirit wherewith Thou hast given life to the world.
    I ask of Thee by the splendor of the Orb of Thy Revelation, mercifully to accept from him that which he hath achieved in Thy days. Grant then that he may be invested with the glory of Thy good-pleasure and adorned with Thine acceptance.
    O my Lord! I myself and all created things bear witness unto Thy might, and I pray Thee not to turn away from Thyself this spirit that hath ascended unto Thee, unto Thy heavenly place, Thine exalted Paradise and Thy retreats of nearness, O Thou who art the Lord of all men!
    Grant, then, O my God, that Thy servant may consort with Thy chosen ones, Thy saints and Thy Messengers in heavenly places that the pen cannot tell nor the tongue recount.
    O my Lord, the poor one hath verily hastened unto the Kingdom of Thy wealth, the stranger unto his home within Thy precincts, he that is sore athirst to the heavenly river of Thy bounty. Deprive him not, O Lord, from his share of the banquet of Thy grace and from the favor of Thy bounty. Thou art in truth the Almighty, the Gracious, the All-Bountiful.
    O my God, Thy Trust hath been returned unto Thee. It behooveth Thy grace and Thy bounty that have compassed Thy dominions on earth and in heaven, to vouchsafe unto Thy newly welcomed one Thy gifts and Thy bestowals, and the fruits of the tree of Thy grace! Powerful art Thou to do as Thou willest, there is none other God but Thee, the Gracious, the Most Bountiful, the Compassionate, the Bestower, the Pardoner, the Precious, the All-Knowing.
    I testify, O my Lord, that Thou hast enjoined upon men to honor their guest, and he that hath ascended unto Thee hath verily reached Thee and attained Thy Presence. Deal with him then according to Thy grace and bounty! By Thy glory, I know of a certainty that Thou wilt not withhold Thyself from that which Thou hast commanded Thy servants, nor wilt Thou deprive him that hath clung to the cord of Thy bounty and hath ascended to the Dayspring of Thy wealth.
    There is none other God but Thee, the One, the Single, the Powerful, the Omniscient, the Bountiful.
    —Bahá’u’lláh

  8. The lyrics of the song make me tear up too. I hope you find peace and joy carol, remember you have many friends everywhere .

  9. Carol, I’m sorry you are having such a rough time both physically and emotionally.

  10. My (Architect) Abdullah, came from Riyadh to Atlanta to attend university two years now and soon he will be returning home. My heart has already begun to miss him so I can’t imagine how my heart will feel when he returns home. I understand how you feel and I pray that God will comfort you as I pray for the same.

  11. …Sorry, I hit the send button before writing my second part. My Architect (nickname) Abdullah, I will miss when he returns home. He was so supportive and helped me through the depression I experienced from loosing my mother. My heart I hope remains strong when he leaves because now I see him as someone God sent to support me during my loss.

    Thanks everyone for always reaching out and supporting each other as we blog our hearts.

Leave a Reply

