Saudi Arabia/USA: Saudi Students Speak Out About the University of Charlotte

 

As I am now residing in Charlotte, North Carolina, USA, I found this documentary video made by some Saudi students to be very interesting and enlightening.

The Charlotte campus is a beautiful campus but it is a shame that the students can not take better advantage of the recreational facilities.

The number of Saudi students attending UNC continues to increase and as one who has a vested interest in both Saudi Arabia and Charlotte, I’d like to see the Saudi students have more opportunities to explore and enjoy Charlotte.  Outside of the University there are many interesting places to discover which include museums, NASCAR and nearby Lake Norman.  The Charlotte area has numerous park and recreational facilities which residents can enjoy at no cost.

8 Responses

  1. Good for them pleading their case in this well-put-together video:-)

  2. Gee, I thought we went to college to study! If our schools are not up to their standards then go back to KSA! I’m sure back home they’ll have all the fun activities they’re missing in our colleges! I’m sorry, but all I heard on the vedio was 8 minutes of someone having. pitty party!

  3. These guys aren’t very resourceful. Why do they limit themselves to the campus? Have they even attempted to explore Charlotte? Why do they expect the University to provide activities? Stop whining and get out and DO something.

  4. I think they made valid points about the University facilities and I hope that the hours can be changed. They do not imply that they do not want to study. They are being specific about what is available during the times they do not have classes.

  5. I agree with the other comments, why aren’t these young men not taking advantage of their time here . I realize that one does need a break from studies from time to time to stay fresh & focused. But whining on “you tube ” for all to see is not cool. Economy has caused many cut backs to try and keep coasts down. I’m sure the local town has many fun things to do or better yet go out and meet the locals, join the YMCA. My gosh, go for walks at the parks. I did not have all these “extras” when I worked in KSA till I opened my eyes and looked around and found the joys of just meeting people from other places (and I had to be careful of the Mawtowas!) Final word stop being a brat!

  6. Although it was a very long time ago my husband went first to Charlotte to attend university because his Saudi friend was there. He tells me that they were always busy and out having fun. Eventually they lived off campus. It’s all in what you make it yourself I guess.

  7. I didn’t watch the whole video, but I think it would be much better if those activities and facilities were available to them. One thing to keep in mind is that university students have to pay a lot of “facilities fees”. If these fees are being paid and yet nothing is kept open during normal free time, they have the perfect right to complain. Also, perhaps if they kept busy with wholesome activities like sports, they would not be drawn towards nightclubs and drinking. It’s almost like the university is encouraging them to seek entertainment elsewhere despite the fees and despite the fact that they are there to experience university life.

    The university here keeps the facilities available to students and provides a lot of activities. This is really a good thing because in Oklahoma, if you don’t have a car, you can only do the things that are within walking distance. If this university didn’t keep decent hours for the facilities, you can bet that there would be a lot of complaining, from Americans as well as international students.

Leave a Reply

