Saudi Arabia/USA: Relaxing at Home

My recent hospital stay was tough.  If I am candid, I will confess that there were several days in particular that I wondered if I was going to make it.  There were a few moments of crisis which I pray I will not experience again.

The hospital stay plus those moments of fear and agony put me in a reminiscent mood.  It reinforced to me how the small stuff truly does not matter and how very important are family and loved ones.

Abdullah has passed on but his memory will always remain.  My memories of are love, fun, sharing, compatibilities and enjoying life.  We did not have a fancy life by any means but we had a good life together, regardless of where we were living.

This is one view of our living room (salon) of our home we had in Northern Virginia, USA.  Abdullah insisted on the red border as his very personal mark on the room.  (smile)

This is the view of the living room (salon) from another angle.  This section was decorated with more of the traditional furniture we had acquired through our mutual travels abroad.

 

It gives me pleasure to share some photos with American Bedu readers of Abdullah and I and little snapshots in the life we built together.

My precious Desert Boy enjoying himself simply relaxing in the family room

We were also blessed to have his children visit us at different times while we lived in the United States.  While photos of his daughters will always remain private, it is a joy to share a photo of what I like to call ‘little Abdullah’ due to the strong resemblance between father and son in both looks and spirit.

 Life father, like son.  These two were like two peas in a pod so similar in looks and having the same joyous laugh!

9 Responses

  1. Carol…you mentioned somewhere else that when you left Saudi the last time with Abdullah that you didn’t realize you wouldn’t return…how did you get all your things that you left behind there then? Just wondering because I know how hard it is to sort through things and decide what to take and what to leave…and much harder to depend on others to do that.

  2. Thank you for sharing your memories and pictures. Hope you are feeling better.
    Wishing you all the best.
    Thank you.

  3. Dear Coolred,

    I did not get all my things; only what his family was able to ship. And yes, they had to choose what to pack or not because I could not return due to my cancer treatments.

    But you know, when it comes down to it, things are simply things and can be replaced. However the memories in the heart will last forever.

  4. Bedu, truly everything that you choose to share with us is very touching! It’s a definite tug at the heart string feeling when reading posts like these from you. And you’re right , his son looks exactly like him! 🙂

  5. Thanks, Omesh.

  6. AB,
    I love seeing the photos of the two of you and the life you shared. It is obvious that you’re both full of life, joy, and contentment. You’ve both been a positive influence in the lives of many people and a great friend. You’ll always be in my heart, Mama Bedu. I have to admit, the red trim on the room does give it a more defining shape and vibrancy that it wouldn’t have otherwise. Lovely pictures!

  7. I love the red. And, wow, Abdullah’s son looks so much like his dad!

  8. Carol, may all the angels gather round you during those tough times. And may Abdullah always be with you in spirit. Thank you for continuing to share your knowledge, experience and life with complete strangers through the medium of this blog.

  9. I agree, the red is a wonderful addition. Thank you for sharing your memories and pictures with us. I’m thinking of you as you fight your battle. I like hearing stories from your perspective and comparing them with my own experiences. Thank you so much Carol!

Leave a Reply

