Saudi Arabia: King Saud University Launches Interactive Arabic Project

 

King Saud University has launched an online project to help non-Arabic speakers learn Arabic for free via the internet.  The Interactive Arabic Project can be accessed from any part of the world.  The Interactive Arabic Project is a self-learning project and offers complete Arabic lessons.  Those who choose to participate in the project are required to have a prior knowledge of the written form of the Arabic alphabet  and how to pronounce the letters.

 

The Interactive Arabic Project focuses on vocabulary, structures, listening, speaking, reading and writing.  In addition, the content demonstrates Arabic culture and some social aspects of everyday life in the Arab world.

Each unit will contain lessons and accompanying exercises on listening; vocabulary; grammatical structures; listening comprehension; speaking; reading; and writing.  The project also includes three separate tests.

The Interactive Arabic Project also has its own facebook page where participants can “meet” and discuss the program.

9 Responses

  1. Where can I locate the Arabic Alphabet, I live in Ryihad and would appreciate learning a different language, Is the program accredited?

  2. @Beth – you can get the arabic alphabet through Google. No; the program is not accredited but offered as a public service.

  3. I guess I better brush up on my writing and then I’ll have a look/see!

  4. Really good program. Helpful and easy.

  5. I’m having a hard time with it. I know my letters, but I don’t know vocabulary. I think I am in chapter 1 (am working from right to left). It’s asking me to do exercises,but I don’t know what it’s telling me to do because I don’t speak Arabic YET. It gave some dialogue, but it hasn’t given me any way to know what was being said in dialogue. I understand a little just because of previous Arabic studies. Fellow students, what am I missing? How am I supposed to know what these words mean in Chapter 1? Supposedly it will teach vocab…in Chapter 2!

    Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction, because I am excited to try this website.

    Shokran

  6. Is there any program to learn spoken Arabic for English speaking folks?
    This program maybe good but knowledge of Arabic script is essential.

  7. Is there any progam for spoken Arabic for English speaking folks?
    This program needs knowledge of Arabic script.

  8. Sara,

    You’d probably get a faster answer using the Univ FB page cited in the post where it says they answer questions and provide support.

Leave a Reply

