Saudi Arabia/World: Bridge building – What is YOUR favorite verse and why?

(pleasant words.com)

I’m going to try something different with American Bedu readers today towards bridge building.  I know that there are readers who are Muslim, Christian and Hindi and possibly some other faiths as well.  I also know that American Bedu has some readers who do not believe in any type of recognized religion.

However, I am confident that we all have a favorite verse from our respective faiths and Books that resonates with us.  Or I suppose if you do not believe in religion you’d still have a saying that resonates with you.

Here’s what I’d like you to do.  State your favorite verse/hadith/sura/quotation and share why it is important to you.  This is not a post meant to bash anyone’s chosen faith or turn into a debate.  This is a bridge building post among readers with sharing of ourselves.

Of course I will start.  I have many favorite verses from the Bible but one which does stand out to me and always makes me feel good, happy and positive is this one from 1 Corinthians 13, verses 1 – 13:

1 Corinthians 13:1-13 – Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

Who can resist love?  This is also a very common verse used in many Christian wedding ceremonies.

22 Responses

  1. One of my longtime favorite verses is from Jeremiah 29, 11-12: “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord; plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

    Whenever there is uncertainty in my life (and that happens often!) this verse helps me remember that God does have a plan for me, and that His desires for me are to the good.

  2. Love it, Carol! Thank you for reminding about the meaning of love, be it a motherly love, or a romantic love, or any other kind of love on earth. It never fails 🙂

    My other favorite verse from the Bible is:

    “So, I say to you: ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Luke (11:9 NIV).

    This “law of life” has proven to be #1 in my life. But we easily forget about it. All it takes is to ask and wait patiently. In addition to the holy verses, I like the metaphysical explanation of this concept: we simply have to VISUALIZE it, HOPE for it, and BELIEVE in miracles! 🙂

  3. My dearest Carol Yes if all could really grasp the compassionate principles of this love the world would indeed be a better place!
    My special verse is Jeremiah 29:18 11 “11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

    This verse has been a guiding light and arrow in our lives so many a time.

  4. I’m not a Christian and maybe my relationship with religions and holy scriptures is a bit skeptical, but I do recognize words of wisdom they contain, those that reflect on our human nature..

    One verse I often think of is:

    “The heart is deceitful above all things” Jeremiah 17:9

    (yet another favorite Jeremiah quote 🙂 )

    I often think of it when I care for people who would eventually cause pain to me, our emotions sometimes move us more than our rational thinking..

  5. No Jewish comments above so I decided to make an appearence:

    “All streams flow into the sea, yet the sea is never full.”
    Ecclesiastes 1:7

  6. While I am unable to identify a “favorite,” and surely yours is one which I would include in a rather extensive list, one of my favorites is Matthew 19: 1-11, and the following is 3-11 from the King James:

    “The Pharisees also came unto him, tempting him, and saying unto him, Is it lawful for a man to put away his wife for every cause?

    And he answered and said unto them, Have ye not read, that he which made them at the beginning made them male and female,

    And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh?

    Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.

    They say unto him, Why did Moses then command to give a writing of divorcement, and to put her away?

    He saith unto them, Moses because of the hardness of your hearts suffered you to put away your wives: but from the beginning it was not so.

    And I say unto you, Whosoever shall put away his wife, except it be for fornication, and shall marry another, committeth adultery: and whoso marrieth her which is put away doth commit adultery.

    His disciples say unto him, If the case of the man be so with his wife, it is not good to marry.

    But he said unto them, All men cannot receive this saying, save they to whom it is given.”

    Call me crazy, but I like the King James “wordiology.” I like this quote for a number of reasons. First, it is a “stumbling block” for those who presume to know how the Word should be interpreted. After all, if Moses baked concessions into the law due to mankind’s hard harded wickedness, might there be other concessions “not so from the beginning?” Perhaps the role of women in the church? Second, I enjoy the last two paragraphs, the first makes me smile, and the second is, well, perplexing. For me, while I can debate its meaning, and I have my own deeply held views, I think that regardless of the actual specific intent, one must in the end return to your chosen verse. God is love, and your verse describes Him (or Her) though it is written to us.

  7. The love chapter is great! I enjoy verses from Philippians 4. They have given me comfort and challenged me to think positively.

    4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

    8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

  8.  “There is neither this world nor the world beyond nor happiness for the one who doubts.” — bhagavat Gita.
    “No matter what conditions you encounter in life, your right is only to the works–not to the fruits thereof. You should not be impelled to act for selfish reasons, nor should you be attached to inaction ”

    I’m a big fan of these two

  9. In the garden of thy heart plant naught but the rose of love Baha’u’llah

  10. Oh there are so many beautiful ones. Hard to narrow them down to one.

    Here are some:

    “On no soul does God place a burden greater than it can bear. It gets every good that it earns, and it suffers every ill that it earns. “Our Lord! Condemn us not if we forget or fall into error; our Lord! Lay not on us a burden Like that which Thou did lay on those before us; Our Lord! Lay not on us a burden greater than we have strength to bear. Blot out our sins, and grant us forgiveness. Have mercy on us. You are our Protector; Help us against those who stand against faith.”
    (Al-Baqarah, 2:286)

    “Then which of the favours of your Lord will you deny?” From Ar-Rahman, the beautiful surah known as Bride of the Quran

    “Allah is the Light of the heavens and the earth. The example of His light is like a niche within which is a lamp, the lamp is within glass, the glass as if it were a pearly [white] star lit from the oil of a blessed olive tree, neither of the east nor of the west, whose oil would almost glow even if untouched by fire. Light upon light. Allah guides to His light whom He wills. And Allah presents examples for the people, and Allah is Knowing of all things”.(Nur:35)

  11. Here is my most favorite “non-denominational” verse …

    People never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it for religious conviction — Blaise Pascal

  12. If you could reason with religious people…there would be no religious people. Dr. Gregory House 🙂

  13. These past two years, I’ve struggled with the implosion of two very important family relationships. It has been incredibly painful and very humbling. Through all this pain I have one quote that helps me “Let go and let God” (that might be an AA quote); this is:

    “Your will be done.” (I think Christ said it in Gethsemane).

    Another couple of quotes:

    Always preach the word of God; even, if you really have to, use words.- Saint Francis of Assisi

    The opposite of faith is not doubt but certainty .
    Not sure where this came from

  14. It’s simply beautiful to see all the positive and uplifting energy coming out from religious people. Not surprising to see only negative quotes from the non-religious ones.

    Some personal faves

    O you who believe…
    never let the hatred of others towards you
    make you swerve to wrong and depart from justice.
    Be just – that is next to piety.
    Qur’an (5:8)

    Say: ‘O My servants who have transgressed against your own souls:
    do not despair of God’s mercy,
    for God forgives all sins.
    It is He who is the Forgiving, the Merciful.’
    Qur’an (39:53)

    And whoever does evil or wrongs himself but afterwards seeks Allah’s Forgiveness, he will find Allah Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful. Qur’an (4:110)

  15. I have been enjoying this post and the comments more than most others.

  16. I don’t see any hateful or negative quotes. All in the eyes of the beholder I guess.

  17. Here are a few of my quotable “verses”:

    Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false and by the rulers as useful. — Seneca, Roman Orator/Historian, 37 BC

    Haters don’t really hate you, they hate themselves because you are a reflection of what they wish to be. — Richard “Tricky Dick” Nixon

    The mind in itself can make a Heaven of Hell, a Hell of Heaven.– Milton

    I am a hindu by faith. I am a christian by spirit. I am a jew by heart. Above all, I am a human being. — Rabinderanth Tagore, Bengali Philosopher

  18. I can’t remember where these all are from, but I love them:

    You can’t change what other people do, but you can change your reaction to it.

    What other people think of you is none of your business.

    Sometimes, you just have to say, “Oh, well.”

    The obstacle is the path. -(Zen proverb, I think?)

    Happiness is a decision.

    and when I can’t seem to find my way, I find my quiet space, meditate/pray, and call on my inner strength because I believe we instinctively know what we are meant to do. It’s just a matter of listening to ourselves over all the outside noise.

  19. I have heard that Love verse (Cor 13:1-3) so many times but never really understand it. Love is basically what makes the problem: love for power, wealth, fame …etc.

    Love is not patient as we see frequently in our lives, it does definately envy; plenty of jealousy between loved ones; love does create anger and friction, it destroys trust … and so many problems because of love. So my question is – is that verse referring to someone in particular or certain incident or event … because the deination of love does not seem to fit the love as we know it in this world.

  20. Philippians 4:6-7 Be careful for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

    Hebrews 4:12 For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart

  21. Hmmmmmm. never came across a more powerful verse like this one in any religiuos book. Mr corinthians must be thanked profusely for these powerful words. I like them a lot and it does not matter whether they are Gods original words or not.
    I have copied them in bold and hang them on my door. I want the words to always remind me how i should treat my spouse.

  22. “Oh God, help me to accept the things I cannot change…
    Give me the courage to change what I can…
    And the wisdom to know the difference.” -Serenity Prayer

    “There is no love, there are only proofs of love.” -Pierre Reverdy

    “One is not always happy when one is good, but one is always good when one is happy.” -Oscar Wilde

    “Abstinence is as easy to me as temperance would be difficult.” -Samuel Johnson

    “The best is the enemy of the good.” -Voltaire

    “Ask not that events should happen as you will, but let your will be that events should happen and you will have peace.” -Epictetus

    “I don’t like that man. I must get to know him better.” -Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

