Saudi Arabia: Hamza Iskandar, Warrior and Hero

hamza iskander

saudigazette.com

 

Compared to other countries, Saudi Arabia remains closed as far as having Saudis open up and speak both candidly and frankly about disease.  However, this is not the case of young Saudi man, Hamza Iskandar.

Hamza was born with physical challenges and demonstrated from early on that he was a fighter and would not let any physical ailments get the best of him.  He was born with a congenital heart defect and had his first open heart surgery at the age of six.  He was determined to show everyone that in spite of physical challenges, his life would be normal.

Based on his attitude, he actually seems more than normal.  In my eyes, he is a motivational hero.  He overcame the challenges and multiple operations to his heart only to be diagnosed in his third year of studies with Stage 3 cancer.

While most Saudis do not speak out about cancer and its trials and tribulations, Hamza is a passionate activist wanting to sensitize and inform others.  He is presently in the United States where he is receiving treatment, a combination of chemotherapy and radiation.  I’ve been there and I can relate to the strength and fortitude that Hamza displays.  To be honest, I’m still there as I continue my own battle with Stage 4 cancer.

However, Hamza’s motto is to “Fight cancer with a smile.”  He shares how his cancer has brought him closer to God, his religion and his family.  After the initial shock of his diagnosis, he views his cancer as yet one more challenge he must overcome.

God Bless you, Hamza.  I do believe you will overcome this challenge as you have repeatedly demonstrated how strong you are.  American Bedu encourages all readers to post comments of encouragement to Hamza as he continues his battle and is willing to share his journey with others.

12 Responses

  1. best wishes!!

  2. I pray to God for quick recovery for both of you
    God bless you

  3. Let’s hope this disease is eradicated at some point in the near future Here’s hoping for a complete remission.

  4. Amen to the comment above! And thoughts and prayers are with both of you in your fight.

  5. wow mashsllah this is an inspiring story. God bless him and hope he remains positive always.

  6. A positive attitude … Wonderful hope you beat this.

  7. Carol another of my friends was diagnosed recently with Breast cancer. She is in Chemo now and has very strong well to fight.

    I am always amazed at the bravery cancer patience have in facing the disease and the difficulty of the treatment.

    You, Hamza and my friend are very courage, I admire your courage.

    I hope Hamza will make a full recovery.

  8. I hope both of u keep fighting it with a smile& go into remission soon.i do hope that this disease gets eradicated

  9. MoQ,

    If I can offer any kind of support, please do let me know and feel free to share my contact info with her.

    On Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 1:58 AM, American Bedu

  10. Carol:

    This is an interesting documentary, although you might already know about it.

  11. Carol:

    This is an interesting documentary, although you might already know about it.

    Disregard the previous one I apparently copied the wrong one.

  12. All right now. I am going to try this again a different way. Apparently it keeps putting up the top youtube pathway which takes you to the one I dont’ want on here.

    So I have tried it a different way.

    http://voicesofthefaceless.com/2013/02/19/marijuana-the-benefits-keep-going/

    It has a lot of interesting information regarding cancer.

    Moderator:

    Can you erase the last two items? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

