Saudi Arabia/Muslim World: What the Muslim Man Would Do

 

American Bedu comments:  I do believe that the Muslim man when located in a third country is overall more polite than perhaps men from Western countries, especially when traveling.  I have had similar experiences during the many times I transited Dubai.  The Pakistani, India or Bangladeshi male would insist that I have a seat on a shuttle rather than stand.  An Arab man would usually make the same gesture.

seat etiquette

metroetiquette.com

 

A friend of mine  was at the Dubai airport and shared the following experience:

 

There was a shuttle that took us to our gate after we got off the plane.  There were men on the shuttle from a previous flight already sitting in the seats.  Since I was the first person to get off of our plane, I was the first person onto the shuttle.  A Muslim man with a long beard and short robe got up to offer his seat to me when I walked up the steps of the shuttle bus.  As i was sitting there, I watched other Arab and European women deplane and come into the shuttle bus.  As each woman came in, one-by-one these conservative Muslim men vacated their seats to give us his seat to each woman.

 

It turned out all the seats that were occupied by men at the beginning when i got onto to the shuttle were now all occupied by women, and all the men were standing up.  I said out loud:  no this is something I have NEVER seen in the United States. And then the European woman said out loud:  I have never seen this in Germany either.  And then the daughter from the mother and daughter couple who were sitting next to me said:  “See this is how Muslim men treat us.  We are happy with our culture.  Please tell everyone in the United States about this story.  These men are not even Arab men who gave us their seats.  They are from Pakistan or India, and we are Arab.  This is Islam that teaches this.  Please tell everyone.”

 

All the men were just standing there beaming with pride, and smiling, some put their head down bashfully and nodded.  I don’t know even if they understood English, but they knew we were impressed.

56 Responses

  1. I always do this in my life, its something all men in my families, relatives, neighbor do. We feel ashamed if some gals/women standing and we occupy the seat no matter how much we are tired. Its the love and respect we give to women. Wherever I go I do it..even in holiday.. I am in UK, still I continue to do it. If any man doesnt give seat ( that I have never seen in my surrounding in India), he will be surely considered from a family where moral discipline is not taught since childhood.

  2. @ All
    I am living in London. I am old and heart patient. Whenever I travelled by Tube I was never offered a seat although there is specific notice” Please give up this seat to old and diable person.
    Once I was very tired and requested A person to please let me have that seat, he asked me a proof————-SHAME
    It does happen. I agree with Azad Ali Shah regarding moral discipline is taught by the families right from Childhood.
    Europeans or other westrens don’t care, Muslims DO. This is my personal experience.

  3. Very nice experience…but let me interject a thought. I will bet you hands down that one or more of those men preferred women sitting because the motion of the bus would have caused her lady bits to sway alarmingly. A natural occurrence for sure but heads might have exploded when faced with such proximity to delectable delights.

    On the other hand, I was not sexually harrassed as often nor as physically as when I lived in the Arab world. I would prefer standing on a bus full of sitting men over being groped in the streets any damn day of the week. Every place has its pros and cons.

  4. I agree that this is impressive and, personally, that this is the way for gentlemen to behave. I am male, have lived in the US for all of my life, and I went through the period of time when young women (then my age) provided dirty looks if you held the door for them or showed them what was then common courtesy. I am sure that it was a minority, but their numbers were significant enough to make an impact. Coupled with a couple of college courses taught by feminists of that day, there was from my perspective a view that these courtesies were included among the societal tools of oppression designed to or at least having the effect of portraying women as weak and needing the assistance of the man.

  5. I have been snubbed after offering my seat to and elderly lady or man. 😦
    They were insulted that I thought them so decrepit that a young woman offered them her seat. You want to be careful especially with old men.
    My brother always offered his seat if a lady or elderly person was standing.
    But I would have given you my seat immediately Sami, if I knew you needed to sit down. 🙂

    The last time I was offered a seat was in a Dutch train, coming from Amsterdam, I was so tired having traveled a lot, and I was sad by the thought I had to stand for at least an hour. And an Arab guy stood up for me and offered me his seat. I was very happy and thanked him very profusely.

  6. btw, brilliant photo! What a prig!

  7. Coolred38,
    Shocking imagination… I and any men surrounding me who offer seat to women dont go so deep like u think… We offer seat to old men too who dosnt have anything to sway out 🙂
    I am sure no man offer seat to old men & women to control “sway out” 🙂

  8. We have people in the South who do this sort of thing. I remember being sick at a Kmart pharmacy years ago and offering my seat to an elderly lady. It’s just proper manners to offer seats to older people and pregnant ladies. Men here do this sort of thing as well or that’s been my experience.

  9. I am surprised at the article indicating that people in the West do not have courtesy. I see people give up their seats all the time. As a matter of a fact, I was at the Enterprise shuttle at Chicago airport just last week, when a Muslim man, his wife and a toddler came on the bus. Myself and another Western gentleman both stood up and gave the couple our seats.

    I also hold doors for both women and men all the time. I have never received a dirty look for doing it in what could be 100’s of times. The usual reaction is a Thank You. So I am not sure where AGA had his experience.

    I do think Muslim men are polite in this respect. However, I do not think Westerners are impolite either. I think Westerners just have a different way to look at this. A woman is as much capable to stand as a man. So unless there is a good reason, like pregnancy or having a child, the order is first come first served.

    I also agree with Coolred. There is more to showing respect to a woman than just giving her a seat. I see that as nice, but shallow if she does not get true respect as a person with equal stature.

  10. It’s just your upbringing. Here in the southern part of the U.S. men hold doors open for the ladies and elderly and just each other out of politeness. The men or young give up seats for the ladies or elderly. When a funeral with hurst is passing on the road everyone in the other lane pulls over to the side of the road out of respect for the family that lost a loved one. We say please and thank you , yes sir and yes mam. Anyone older than us we still use Mr. or Miss even when we’ve known them for years, this is out of respect. I married a northern guy and moved that direction for a while and couldn’t get used to the lack of manners. They don’t show respect when a funeral is passing. I was a police officer up north and asked my fellow officers and they has never heard of that custom. My inlaws didn’t like me adding Mr. and Mrs. when I would say their names. I explained to them I respected them and it was my upbringing and they seemed to like it from then on. They later moved south.
    So it’s not Westerners or the US, it’s regional and how you were brought up by your parents I’m sure in any country.

  11. Yeah, I agree. Oklahoma follows many southern customs, including opening doors, giving up seats, offering to help carry something, and generally saying excuse me, thank you, and all that. I remember that while I was in New Jersey for a month, I was shocked at the appalling lack of manners until someone explained to me that it was just not part of their customs. To me, it sounded like people used a rude tone of voice all the time, but it was natural sounding to people from that area.

    I have, however, had to explain to some of my Saudi students that they should offer to help their very pregnant classmate when she was trying to navigate the stairs and carry all her books and things. I told them that it was polite behavior in Oklahoma and to just brush by her and ignore her was rude. They didn’t want to even acknowledge her because she is also Saudi and they thought they would be rude to offer any assistance. I still think that is strange, but, not everyone shares the same perception of rudeness.

  12. I don’t know if this is specific o Muslim men, in some places men and ven women get up and offer seats to the older folks or people with kids.
    If you can stand and a child or older person cannot its common courtesy and humanity to give up your place.

  13. This common courtesy is not at all common here in Malaysia. I really do wonder, through my observation, why giving up seats or opening doors for someone in need is so difficult for Asians. I am also Asian (Thai-North Indian-Malay on my father’s side and Malay-Java on my mother’s) so this isnt meant as bashing but it really is rare to see this kind of consideration here. I remember once while I was returning to my condo, I was carrying my toddler in one arm and some groceries in another. I struggled to retrieve my access card to open the main entrance (tight security) but the security guard just watched without offering o help eventhough he knows me and my husband. My groceries fell to the floor and thankfully a Middle Eastern gentlemen helped to gather my groceries. But the guard just continue to watch and other passer bys just ignored my situation. Is there a study of some sort about the lack of courtesy in Asian culture? Because I see it a lot and frankly it is embarrasing.

  14. Ps. The guy in the photo is such an arse!

  15. Is this post some sort of a joke? Am I to believe that this kind of behaviour is unique to the Gulf and can’t be seen anywhere else? People have stood up to offer their seats in my European country since I was a child – that’s the way we were taught, so sorry, nothing new here; the Arabian world doesn’t treat human beings in a more special way than us.

    I have often seen people stand up to offer their seats in the Gulf but this doesn’t make it a good place to live anyway. Just because somebody stands up to offer you his seat in the Gulf doesn’t mean that the Gulf is elevated to a high moral standard or that the people who live there are better than us.

    Apart from these little kindnesses, what about the sponsorship system that turns foreigners into virtual slaves and crushes entire lives? What about all the workers from India and Sri Lanka who are not allowed to go back to their countries for years because the Arab employers do not want to pay their tickets or are simply afraid that they will never come back again?

    An expression of what “kindness” is that?

    I had two co-workers from Sri Lanka who were not allowed to take a vacation when their fathers were gravely ill, though the boys had worked there for years without vacation, and the Arab management explained their cruelty and inhumanity with “the situation of our business”. I saw how nobody cared about the tears of those boys and if it weren’t for the newly appointed Dutch GM, they would not see their fathers at all.

    Such little kindnesses are literally lost in the vast ocean of unspoken pain in the Gulf.

  16. With regards to the photo, it looks like the guy is oblivious and there is a seat behind him that appears to be empty. My guess is that the woman may be standing because she’s getting off at one of the next few stops, but I could be wrong. I would imagine if someone walked up to the guy and asked for a seat, he’d move. The guy also looks like he’s on his feet all day most days, so maybe he’s enjoying the fact he can stretch out for a change?

    I don’t expect guys to offer their seat to me on a crowded bus. Sometimes, they look more tired than me! And sometimes, I prefer standing for different reasons. However, I have seen plenty of people offer elderly and pregnant women seats. The thing about offering it to the elderly is that, let’s say it’s considered 60 and older. You see someone who looks about 60 but is having no problem getting around. You don’t care if you offer them your seat, but what if you offend them by offering?

  17. Well,RC, you can choose to be an optimist and focus more on the good in people or be a pain in the rear and always dwell on the gloomiest possible view of people that you clearly despise. Which ever way, your misanthropism doesnt mean squat to the good people of Gulf, you are only killing yourself by hating.

    “A pessimist is a man who thinks everybody is as nasty as himself, and hates them for it.”
    ― George Bernard Shaw

  18. Well, Mrs B,

    You have obviously lived in a vacuum most of your life and don’t want anything to disturb your nice little cocoon. This is typical of the people like you and you are obviously a Muslim, or you wouldn’t make such a profoundly unfair reply. I told you a really heartbreaking story about two Sri Lankan boys who were denied access to their gravely ill fathers and all you have to offer is the childish insult that I’m a hater?

    Believe me, I have a great capacity for loving others but I keep it for the decent people of the world. I loved and cherished my co-workers from Sri Lanka, Indonesia and Sudan very much because they were great people and had much more personality, integrity and common sense than you’ll ever have. You are right that I clearly despise the humanoids that treated them as low-grade people and made them suffer so much. In the meantime, I want to admit that I feel really happy and fulfilled whenever I use the Internet to inform the world about the extreme violations of human rights in the Gulf.

    You don’t know me at all, so spare your insults for someone you know well. During my two years in the Gulf, I did not see even one Arab person say openly that the treatment of the foreign workforce was appalling – they all used much softer and more elegant expressions to cover the ugliness of what was going on. Some of them even had the face to claim that their third-world slaves were “happy” with their plight!

    What does this tell you about “the good people of the Gulf”? You are obviously missing the point that just because someone lives quietly without breaking the law doesn’t mean that he or she is a really good person. “The good people” who wouldn’t hurt a fly or wouldn’t raise their voices would not feel any disgust with the constant abuse of others, either. But of course, that’s too fine a point for someone like you.

    And let me say that I’m really surprised at the obnoxiousness with which you are citing George Bernard Shaw, who, by the way, is a great British playwright and a part of a culture you mistrust. I am sure he would have turned in the grave if he knew how you used his words to justify what he would despise himself.

    RC

  19. Dear Carol,

    My answer to Mrs B did not show. Could you please take it out of the spam filter? Thanks!

    RC

    Got it, it’s up!
    Moderator

  20. Thank you, Carol!

  21. Well RC let me inform you that I have lived for five years in the UK and it may shock you but I loved the British and its conglomearation of culture. And despite having some introduction to stupid bigotry, I have also had some extraordinary experience with wonderful people who made it up for the imbeciles that are in existence but unlike you, I am far from being a pessimist especially when it comes to people. I think Mr Shaw sum it up so well about pessimists. *I* chose how to lead my life and that is by seeing the good in people more than the bad because in the end, we are the ones who are in control of our lives and how we perceive outside factors (people,weather,food,culture etc) would impact our perspectives and make us either the bitter old lady who screws up her face at every little details OR the person who realize a smile is a language that even babies understand. Yes I am a Muslim. Do you despise me for that? Do you really think it is fair that because you had a bad experience with some people that it would allow you to completely ignore the others who you didn’t have the privilege to meet but you would love them if you had. Try to be good to yourself by killing the hate inside you. It’s not healthy for your soul.

  22. Moderator, I too have made a comment and it disappeared. Please retrieve it if you can. Thank you.

  23. Correction RC, Mr Shaw was an Irish not British and though of course I disagree with his political and religious views that doesn’t prohibit me from admiring his drama and literature. You see, most people can choose to disagree with someone but still refrain from hating that person and see things objectively.

  24. RC, I too can choose to hate the British or Americans or take your pick of the Western because I too have experienced extreme prejudice. who haven’t??? I too have seen horrible injustice by Westerners and Arabs alike for being Asian so you can spare the notion that i live in a vacuum because I have seen injustice but hey I didn’t allow it to blur my view with all that muck. Life is too short and precious to live with such hate and prejudice in your heart. You never know what life will throw back at you one day. Maybe you’ve had an accident, God forbid, and the doctor who saved you happens to be an Arab. Won’t you regret all those hate you have all these while? My point is, you should be more considerate with how you view people. Believe me, you will feel a huge burden relieve of off you once you scrape the hatred away.

  25. @MrsB,

    I think you should go to a few articles here and read your comments. You may realize there is a pattern that you’re developing. In almost every case, you will find some comment by another person that you do not like, then you start a “personal” attack on the person (not their opinion).

    I thought to offer you an observation, in case you’re not aware.

  26. as if you’re not aware, I too have been under ‘personal’ attack by others who don’t like my views in droves even so big deal! like you’re not making it personal with me by singling me out on this issue and ignoring others who do the same. Thank you but I don’t need you chaperoning my comments.

  27. Haven’t been here in awhile…but nothing seems to change.

  28. Just making an observation. Not chaperoning you since you claim to be an adult. I do not think you understand the difference between making a personal attack and presenting a counter argument. Sorry, I even brought it up MrsB. Continue with your behavior.

  29. Calling me under educated, naive, insane…, how is that not personal Moq, just because my views are different from yours? i think the real issue is you’re taking it personally with me in every comments i make. it started with you calling me a naive convert (which i m not) and i threw you some punches as well. what is good for the geese is good for the gander. besides, i saw a comment that had some disdain for certain ethnicity which you ignored completely and I pointed that out, plain and simple.

  30. Moq the pattern I can observe from you is if someone makes a comment that are at opposite with yours, you tend to procrastinate them and then rather subtly but obvious enough make personal attacks on their traits. You may think you are above such flaw but we have all succumb to having strong opinions on certain issues.

  31. procrastinating…I meant patronize

  32. I called you under educated in “your religion”, when you attacked me as a lier and fabricator of hadith, when you specifically based that attack on be based on you not knowing your religion. Even when you were given the sources down to the book and the Hadith number. That is actually stating a fact.

    Keep your denial and constant playing of victim, even though in every case you instigate the personal attacks.

    Case in point is just above, you instigate personal attack against reality check just for stating an opinion that you do not like.

  33. Personally I get offered a seat most of the time here in Vancouver.

  34. I think MrsB is being hypocritical. She ought to practice first before she preaches to others. Let’s look at her comment from Jan 9th:

    mrsB, on January 9, 2013 at 7:28 am said: I wish from the beginning you were calm and argued with reasons like you are now Muhammad. As a sister in Islam, I advice you and myself to avoid insults and hate. Leave that to them for as you can see they spout a lot of insults and even prejudice towards Islam (barbaric, backward, pedophile advocater and many more) but answer back with facts and calmness. Islam means peace..Good intentions plus bad remedy equals disastrous effects.

    BTW, I may be mistaken here but from what I have gleaned from islamic websites, Islam means SUBMISSION TO ALLAH, not peace.

  35. That picture was taken on the Washington, DC area subway system. I recognize it since I use that system to commute to work.

    Yes, people do take up extra seats from time to time, and, when one does that and prevents people from being able to sit, it is rude. However, I suspect that particular photograph was posed for the website it was taken from. You can’t see anyone else standing in the photo. If the train were really filling up, you would see more people standing, even in that limited photo.

    Sometimes, people do stand, even if there are empty seats. If there are empty seats outside of camera range, the woman standing does have an opportunity to sit, so it doesn’t matter if the man is taking up empty seats.

    I do see people sitting like that from time to time. I can’t say I am crazy about it, but I have never seen someone not move when someone makes a move to sit in the “extra” seat the person is occupying. They don’t have to be asked to move.

    I am female, and not young, though not quite senior yet. I am not handicapped. I have been offered seats on full trains, by both men and women. My reaction is to thank the offerer and then decline.

    Based on what I have said above, I think that using that photograph to make certain inferences about behavior in the west is misleading.

    If men always offer seats to women, that is a nice thing (regardless of where the men are from). I do agree that, if there is other bad behavior towards women, offering seats does not make up for it.

  36. Well, I think one’s experience with people being polite does vary from day to day, even in the same place. Having lived in England I cannot imagine it possible that an English person would not get up and offer his or her seat when another older passenger asks for it and tells them they are in bad health. My experience with the English is that they are very civil and friendly people.
    Just look at English people standing in line, no pushing, no rude behavior.

    Fun fact:
    A demographic which deserves the accolade for most friendly and polite are Heavy Metal fans. I have been to Metal festivals, and to concerts, and even if I was on my own I have always had the best experiences in being treated with friendliness, respect and consideration.

  37. @RC,
    I think you are missing out on some major cultural differences between the Middle Eastern/Gulf countries and more “Western” societies. When they use flowery words to say that there is a problem with something, that can be taken almost the same as someone saying it outright here in the US. The ones saying the slaves are “happy” with their plight are crazy, though.

    I’ve encountered racism here in the US recently among people originally from India where they wanted to pay Indian workers more than anyone else even if the other workers were more qualified. I could report them, but it probably wouldn’t change much as it is a small business. These people are so heavily indoctrinated into the caste system that they don’t believe an owner (and I’m not talking silent business partner here) should work in his/her own business because that is “below” them. It’s times like these I want to tell them to get with the program and American business practices or go back to India. So yeah, racism happens everywhere.

  38. Good for them! The Arabs and Muslim men, in case I was not clear. That just goes to show that there are good and polite people everywhere, and these people deserve credit for this behavior even if … Even if, these same people may have ideas and conduct in other areas that is less than correct. But we don’t know this, so, once again, good for them.

    Last month for the first time ever a young man offered his seat to me in HongKong. I was somewhat annoyed, I admit, but he was just trying to be nice to the old white guy standing up.
    .
    Certainly the Woman’s lib movements is to blame for this growing lack of civility to women in the West. What you plant you reap…

    Why am I always defending Muslims?

  39. I haven’t experienced this yet since I’ve been in Saudi. Whenever I go home, people men & women race & push me out of their way wether on the shuttle or to board the plane, yet I’m pregnant & I have a small child. What I do no is board the planes last unless they call me first which has happened once & had brought it to an attendant’s attention.

  40. I read your blog very late today, Carol. Thank you for that article. Let me tell all of you my experience. I am from Germany (my husband is American) and I flew on my own to join my husband in Riyadh, I flew from Frankfurt/Germany. I had 3 carry ons (a cat cage with a cat , my briefcase with a laptop and a full handbag). I had to walk kilometer after kilometer with all that (Saudia leaves from the cellar floor). All my good german fellow citizens ignorned me and run by me because I was “not fast enough”. All of a sudden, before I went down the last stairs, a Saudi Man asked me if he could help me. I thankfully took the offer and he carried the cat and the computer. We had still a few kilometers to walk through the snow, had to climb up the airplain. This man carried everything right to my seat at the Saudia airplane and even put it in the compartments for me. Now: In Riyadh, this man (he was sitting in first class) came back and people guess what, he helped me again and even on immigration. He was there for me until my husband “took over” outside on the customs. I will never forget this helpful person. I thanked him and he left very quietly.

  41. But Rahma, don’t people with small children get to board first anyway? That’s the case on all the flights I have been on and I think it’s a good policy.

  42. Yes, Jay, why do you do that? 😉

    lisaleis, what an angel!

  43. @AA, not all airlines do this. When I mentioned it to an attendant she told me it should be the case but it doesn’t happen in Bahrein. I was traveling with Gulf Air as they have direct flights to Paris. Of all the places I have lived in Brazil is the best at letting people with small kids board planes etc first.

  44. Moq, let me break it to you. You were the one who instigated personal attacks on me. You sorted me out and called me a naive convert. You are very patronizing, even in your last comments to me on the baby veiling topic, you ordered me to back down from the debate or else. Go and look! Who do you think you are to order me about? I have a right to give my opinion and usually I am very nice and polite EXCEPT to people who preach prejudice. My respond to RC was not impolite but she continues to berate Gulf men and even go to extend of critisizing women who chose to marry Arab men. Now that is as personal as it can get to me. Concerning you, you need to tone down your love of patronizing and belittling others even if that is what makes you feel good about yourself. You talk as if we can’t possibly have worked out a sensible way of doing things like you did. Also you think yourself free of flaw and if you did succumb to instigating personal attack on others, you blamed others! Remember when you had a heated moment with Old Blue Eyes and got personal with her on the baby veiling topic? You blamed me for your insults to her, by saying ‘oh Mrs B’s way seem to have brushed off onto me’. Oh really?? What did I have to do with your ill manners?

    You are also so condescending and act as if you are the only real grown-up in any conversation. You don’t know how to be assertive and respectful to others, it’s like we can’t just disagree with you, you have to put us down too. You are always smug and you honestly seem to tell yourself yoy do it for the greater good, truth seems to be so imperative to you but you don’t realise a lot of the truth might be subjective. Give me a break about personal attacks!

  45. And Mr myronleonard, yes I did advice a brother who was using FOUL languages and racists slurs in his comments which I never stoop to so back off! Aafke, I agree with you, I have always admired the Brits on their politeness.

  46. @MrsB,

    You’re in denial. I hope you get better soon 😦

  47. Thank you Moq, I wish the same for you.

  48. Rahma, I can imagine how difficult it must be for you then. I ahve flown KLM, Lufthansa, British Airways, Delta, etc, They all have the policy of letting in first people with small children and people who have some difficulty walking etc. I have never seen it not happen.

  49. Giving up ur seat is not a sign of doing something great. Its a sign of good manners and good breeding.

    Too bad this politeness of saudis giving up their seats doesnt filter over into daily life in the way in which they treat their foreign workers.

    Im sorry, but giving up their seats means absolutely nothing. Look at the overall picture of wht they truly are with others and then we can see the reality.

  50. Well said, Sandy – I wish more people were thinking like you. Giving up your seat is so much easier than treating your foreign workers with fairness and respect. Sadly, the unfairness and disrespect you get as a non-Western foreigner in the Gulf are so rampant, so extreme that they are the region’s most distinctive features.

    I worked in Qatar in 2000–2001 and the things I witnessed there were atrocious – the Gulf Arabs are the most cruel, exploitative and amoral people I have ever seen in my whole life and their holier–than–thou attitude is nauseating. They exploit the lifeblood from 99% of the foreigners and pay them almost nothing in return. At the same time, they are delusional enough to believe that “the foreigners are happy with what they have in our country because they’d never get such good salaries in their homelands.”

    Imagine putting a Qatari or Saudi on such a salary and then watch the yelling! For two years, I could not decide if that was a mentally sadistic joke or just a definitive proof of natural idiocy peculiar to their race. I’m still in a limbo about the final answer. You can’t possibly be so delusional as to think that your victims are happy with a treatment that you would never agree to receive, so it must be a joke. But if it is a joke, the answer is even worse: only monsters can joke like that.

    From what I see, Saudi Arabia is not different at all. In fact, many of the Muslims I met in Doha shuddered at the very mention of Saudi Arabia and said they would never go there “because those people are the worst of the worst”. It is worth hearing something like that from a Muslim as a Christian would be accused of being a hater.

    So why should we care that a couple of Gulf Arabs stood up on a bus to offer their seats to a foreign woman? It costs them nothing to stand up. You are right – look at the overall picture of what they are with others and then we can see the reality. The truth is they would have acted without any respect for the same foreign woman in a less public situation. They are the Kings of Hypocrisy and Superficiality and once the lovely veneer gets stripped off, what you’ll see will be so ugly that you’ll wish you never lived to see it in your life.

  51. Here is a question…would those same gulf Arabs have stood up for a colored woman or woman from a country the see ass beneath them…like India, Pakistan, or Filipino?

  52. Got to agree with reality chek and coolred. I jut came back from a trip to india (i am of north indian origin, but born and raised in canada). I flew etihad airlines, and was seated to a pakistani gentleman who now lives in canada. Somehow, we started to discuss the treatment of foreign workers in the kingdom. Honestly, i was shocked at the things he told me what he had seen as he had worked there (not as labour but as a professional).

    I wouldnt wish any of these things on my worst enemy.

    Just like coolred said, it would be nice to know if tht seat would have been given up for an indian, pakistani, or filipino.

    So does giving up a seat on a short bus ride make them wonderfully polite people? I think not. Giving up my seat for the elderly or a pregnant woman should not be construed as politeness. It is called being a good human being. Only difference is i was taught to be a good person to everyone, regardless of colour, religion, caste or creed. For a lot of the people in this world, this is normal behaviour, and generally filters over to most aspects of life.

    Sorry to say, but i cant believe people would actually use this one simple example to try and argue the politeness of a saudi.

    Look at how a person treats someone below them, then u will truly know the real nature of that person.

  53. Coolred,

    The answer is: “No, they wouldn’t.”

    For some reason, Arabs don’t want anything to do with Indian women. When I was in Qatar, I never heard about an Arab guy dating an Indian, Pakistani or Filipino. I never even saw one. It is as if they consider them inferior. I believe it is a racist thing.

    When I was in Doha, I met some very good-looking Indian women but they were dating Indians, not Arabs. You would almost think that an Arab wouldn’t date an Indian woman even if she looked like Aishwarya Rai! Arabs want to date white women – women from the subcontinent are off their radar screens.

    As for standing up for a coloured woman? Excuuuuuuseeeeee meeeeee!

    :)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  54. Reality Check…Filipino women are a big favorite in Bahrain…generally the housemaids but there are gf as well and the occasional wife. The reason being (or given) is that the Filipino culture trains the woman to care for the man hand and foot. Arab men love that…doesn’t mean they treat them any better but they aren’t ignored.

    And looking at my former comment I notice the horrible job of proofreading my Ipad did. I apologize for that.

  55. Men all over the world love that and it’s why you see Filipino wives in every country of the world.

  56. I’d like to think so.

    On Mon, Mar 4, 2013 at 8:52 AM, American Bedu

Leave a Reply

