Saudi Arabia: What Would YOUR Documentary Be About?

New Zealand, North Island, Northland, Te Paki Sanddunes

johnallengay.wordpress.com

 

 

As the American Bedu documentary is in final edits, it has me wondering about others who are in or have been to the Kingdom or simply have a keen interest in the Kingdom.  If you were to create your own documentary sharing some aspect of Saudi Arabia, what would it be about?  Where would you choose to focus and why?

The American Bedu documentary is my life story but that includes a significant chapter of life in Saudi Arabia.  My chapter shares the love story between me and my late Saudi husband, meeting his family and how I was accepted into Saudi society.

However, everyone who is in or has been to Saudi Arabia will have a different story depending on the circumstances which brought them to the Kingdom and where they are located too.

The Kingdom truly is a country of ever shifting sands.  Those in Jeddah will know they are in a different country yet Jeddah will have a cosmopolitan feel and is relatively open.  Individuals, Saudis and expats alike will have more freedoms.

Whereas Riyadh by comparison is much more conservative and closed.  People are watchful and guarded in both how they dress and what they may say in public.

People in  Makkah and Medina are overall open and welcoming of all the international visitors who have come to perform Hajj and Umra.  Yet, unlike Riyadh or Jeddah, the majority of visitors to Makkah or Medina are Muslims and only Muslims are allowed in to the inner heart of these cities.

There are many cities and towns in between and each of them also has something unique to offer by way of customs, cultures and traditions.  In my opinion, one either hates the Kingdom and simply bides their time until they leave or the Kingdom gets into your blood and you have a bond and special place with Saudi Arabia for the rest of your life.

 

15 Responses

  1. Saudi’s absolutely awesome archaeology!!

  2. Saudi hospitality! I am still blown away how guests are treated.

  3. Norma….guests may be treated well but employees, those from so called inferior countries, are treated like little more than slaves…or worse. I hope that blows you away equally as we’ll.

  4. *well…darn

  5. “welcome, welcome” are for 85% of the saudi I met the only english words they know

  6. Coolred, not everything has to be a debate. My God…you leave me speechless!

  7. Norma…that’s not a topic for debate. I’m not starting a debate…just stating a fact. I’m glad I leave you speechless…doesn’t bother me a bit.

  8. @Coolred38 : The reason I feel why there may be resentment among us (Saudis) against some labours is that the people that mostly travel to the kingdom are from a lower economic class and many of them tend to continue to stay there illegally or get involved in crimes such as drugs smuggling or opt for low level jobs such as sweepers or cleaners. So the interaction the Saudis get from them is not very good.

    Plus we have been ripped off enough from some labours and our money and homes were stolen and we did not even brother sue them and we have given them enough chance.

  9. I am sure it doesn’t, but I to can state facts about all the sweat shops around the world..and the way minorities are treated in my own country..but Carol was asking what we would document..no need to always be so negative..must be draining! For the record Coolred, I am well aware Saudi has many issues to work on, and gradually it’s happening, but no need to always rub it in my face.

  10. Horses. 🙂

  11. Actually I’m not the one being negative as I generally treat people in a positive way. Pointing out such negatives does not make ME the negative one…just makes me determined to keep such things at the forefront when people choose to paint a bright and shiny pic about a certain subject. And yes, the rest of the world has similar abysmal behavior…but this blog is about Saudi.

  12. Traditional music of Saudi Arabia. 🙂

  13. I would gladly pay to see a full length feature documentary about Arabian horses!!!!

  14. Saudi Motorsports

  15. Saudi Arabia’s human rights abuses via government run human rights organizations, police stations and prisons.

Leave a Reply

