Saudi Arabia/USA: The Story of the Orange Couch

I have not written recently about some of the memories made with my late husband, Abdullah.  I think this one may bring a smile or perhaps even a chuckle to some American Bedu readers.

What color is this couch?  Please, before scrolling on and reading more, go ahead and type your guess in comments.

orange couch

In case you have not typed your guess yet in comments, I’m giving you another chance to guess before I tell the complete story behind this couch.

orange couch

Okay….did you type your guess?  I hope so for now here is … the rest of the story!

my desert boy

I was still in India when Abdullah Al-Ajroush called to tell me he bought us a couch. I was excited and asked him what style and color. He responded that it was a casual couch from Ikea. Okay, I thought. That sounds good but what color is it? “Orange.” He told me. I kind of squealed back “orange” and then there was a pregnant pause in the conversation. He comes back with the response, “well it is kind of orange but not really orange. It just has a little bit of an orange tint to it.” Well, I came back from India and we agreed to disagree on the true color of the ‘not really orange’ couch. That was also when we took this picture so that we would always remember this conversation. Ahhhh, that’s part of what made me so love Abdullah.

20 Responses

  1. I’d call that an orange. But let’s read and see what new colour AB has us discover…

  2. (big smile) @ Ibrahim

    On Sat, Mar 23, 2013 at 3:30 PM, American Bedu

  3. A lot of readers have ‘liked’ this post but only one actual comment……hmmm….

  4. My best guess is that it is either soft marigold orange or light tan orange. Oh, this is so much fun :)-

  5. Thank you for taking a guess, Ms. B!

    On Sat, Mar 23, 2013 at 5:22 PM, American Bedu

  6. Oh, it’s clearly beige….with a soft peach undertone.

  7. I would say that orange!

  8. That’s the kinda Abdullah agreeing but not really agreeing!! I can picture him trying to convince you! Lovely sofa and a nice picture of Aabdullah. Nice to see them.

    A friend of mine has similar orange sofa here and she is Dutch!!! (The national flag colour)!

  9. All I can say that this color orange is from the ’60s motif. We used to have a sofa with the same orange hue in the late ’60s. I haven’t seen this color around since the 60s/70s :)-

  10. It’s Orange!!!

  11. No….it’s “Warm Sunset”…. 😉 (For the most part, I understand the marketing behind color names in the retail sector. Then, I’ll come across a name and wonder how the name is supposed to reconcile with the color. I couldn’t resist an opportunity to poke fun at the marketing involved in color names.)

  12. Orange

  13. Orange or tangerene

    Sent from my iPhone

  14. Orange

  15. I’ll never forget when I finally say it and him trying to convince me it was “not really orange…”

    On Sun, Mar 24, 2013 at 5:10 AM, American Bedu

  16. preventdisease.com The fruit’s extracts from Annona muricata tree selectively inhibit the growth of human breast cancer cells. http://www.sott.net/article/242555-Soursop-Fruit-Kills-Cancer-100-Fold-better-Than-Chemotherapy

    Best Regards, A.Aboobaker Sait.

  17. I am thinking pumpkin.

  18. It is ORANGE because i like orange 🙂

  19. It is true that under the cover is an off-white couch but my dear husband chose the cover and it was not to come off! (smile)

    On Mon, Mar 25, 2013 at 9:14 AM, American Bedu

  20. Being a resident of Tennessee I recognize that color as not just ‘orange’ but University of Tennessee ‘BIG ORANGE.’ It would be right at home in Knoxville.

Leave a Reply

